Staff: Josh Nasbe, Counsel Channa Newell, Counsel Whitney Perez, Counsel Mike Reiley, Judiciary Office Coordinator Kristi Arrington, Committee Assistant



Members: Rep. Jeff Barker, Chair Rep. Andy Olson, Vice-Chair Rep. Jennifer Williamson, Vice-Chair Rep. Chris Gorsek Rep. Mitch Greenlick Rep. Bill Post Rep. Bill Post Rep. Karin Power Rep. Tawna Sanchez Rep. Sherrie Sprenger Rep. Duane Stark Rep. A. Richard Vial

HOUSE INTERIM COMMITTEE ON JUDICIARY

Oregon State Capitol 900 Court Street NE, Room 331, Salem, Oregon 97301 Phone: 503-986-1750 Email: hjud.exhibits@oregonlegislature.gov

AGENDA

Revision 1 Posted: JAN 08 02:45 PM

FRIDAY

Date: January 12, 2018 Time: 2:00 P.M. Room: HR F

The House and Senate Judiciary Committees will be meeting jointly.

Work Session

Introduction of House Committee Legislative Concepts

When available, LC drafts will be posted on the committee's OLIS page

Introduction of Senate Committee Legislative Concepts

When available, LC drafts will be posted on the committee's OLIS page

Informational Meeting

Invited testimony only.

Employment Exemption for Amateur Athletes (LC 146)

Tim Bernasek, Attorney, Dunn Carney Allen Higgins & Tongue LLP

Update on Oregon State Bar Futures Task Force (LC 205)

Amber Hollister, General Counsel, Oregon State Bar

Juvenile Detention Facilities

Bob Joondeph, Executive Director, Disability Rights Oregon

Sarah Radcliffe, Managing Attorney, Protection and Advocacy for Individuals with Mental Illness Program, Disability Rights Oregon

Bryan Brandenburg, Administrator, Northern Oregon Regional Correctional Facility

Torri Lynn, Linn County Juvenile Department Director, Oregon Juvenile Department Directors Association

For ADA accommodation requests, please email employee.services@oregonlegislature.gov or call 1-800-332-2313.

AGENDA (Cont.) January 12, 2018

U.S.-European Criminal Justice Innovation Program: Lessons From Norway

Collette Peters, Director, Department of Corrections Mike Schmidt, Director, Oregon Criminal Justice Commission

Update on Data Breach Work Group (LC 204)

Aaron Knott, Legislative Director, Oregon Department of Justice Theresa Van Winkle, Senior Policy Advisor, Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services

Industrial Hemp and the Right to Farm

James W. Johnson, Land Use and Water Planning Coordinator, Department of Agriculture Mary Anne Cooper, Public Policy Counsel, Oregon Farm Bureau

Licensing of Law Enforcement Officers

Eriks Gabliks, Director, Department of Public Safety Standards and Training Linsay Hale, Professional Standards Division Director, Department of Public Safety Standards and Training Sheriff Jason Myers, Marion County Sheriff's Office and Chair, Board on Public Safety Standards and Training

Discussion of 2018 Legislative Concepts

Presenters TBD

Note change: updated presenters and titles

Send materials or presentations to the email at the top of the agenda 24 hours in advance of the meeting date. All submissions will be posted and made public on the Oregon Legislative Information System (OLIS).

For ADA accommodation requests, please email employee.services@oregonlegislature.gov or call 1-800-332-2313.