A-Engrossed Senate Bill 1528

Ordered by the Senate February 18 Including Senate Amendments dated February 18

Sponsored by Senators FERRIOLI, COURTNEY; Senators HANSELL, ROBLAN, Representatives MCKEOWN, STARK (Presession filed.)

SUMMARY

The following summary is not prepared by the sponsors of the measure and is not a part of the body thereof subject to consideration by the Legislative Assembly. It is an editor's brief statement of the essential features of the measure.

Requires members of Commission on Indian Services who are not members of Legislative Assembly to be [appointed from nominees] selected by tribal [councils] governing bodies. Provides that majority of members of commission who are not members of Legislative Assembly does not constitute quorum during certain gatherings.

Declares emergency, effective on passage.

1 A BILL FOR AN ACT

- Relating to the Commission on Indian Services; amending ORS 172.100 and 172.110; and declaring an emergency.
 - Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:
- 5 **SECTION 1.** ORS 172.100 is amended to read:
 - 172.100. It is declared to be the policy and intent of the Legislative Assembly that:
 - (1) The State of Oregon shall establish a Commission on Indian Services for the [purpose] purposes of improving services [with] to American Indians in [the State of Oregon] this state and promoting communication and relations between the State of Oregon and the nine federally recognized Indian tribes in Oregon.
 - (2) The commission [will] may not abrogate or supersede negotiations or relations that any Indian tribe, band or group might have or develop individually with any state, federal, [or] local or tribal government.
 - **SECTION 2.** ORS 172.110 is amended to read:
 - 172.110. (1) The Commission on Indian Services shall be comprised of 13 members appointed jointly by the President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives. Membership shall include:
 - (a) Two members from the Senate who are not members of the same political party.
- 19 (b) Two members from the House of Representatives who are not members of the same political 20 party.
- 21 (c) One member from the Confederated Tribes of the Warm Springs Indian Reservation.
- 22 (d) One member from the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation.
- 23 (e) One member from the Burns-Paiute Tribe.
- 24 (f) One member from the Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians of Oregon.
- 25 (g) One member from the Confederated Tribes of the Grand Ronde.
- 26 (h) One member from the Cow Creek Band of Umpqua Indians.

NOTE: Matter in **boldfaced** type in an amended section is new; matter [*italic and bracketed*] is existing law to be omitted. New sections are in **boldfaced** type.

6

8

9

10

11

12 13

14

15

16 17

18

- (i) One member from the Confederated Coos, Lower Umpqua and Siuslaw Tribes.
 - (j) One member from the Klamath Tribe.
 - (k) One member from the Coquille Tribe.
 - (2) If the Speaker of the House of Representatives or the President of the Senate is a member, either may designate from time to time an alternate from among the members of the appropriate house to exercise the powers of the Speaker or President as a member of the commission except that the alternate shall not preside if the Speaker or President is chairperson.
 - (3) Notwithstanding subsection (1) of this section, the commission may appoint one additional member from an area in which nonreservation Indians reside, who is associated with an Indian Health Care Improvement Act Title V Urban Indian Health program. The member appointed under this subsection shall be a nonvoting member of the commission.
 - (4) The term of office is two years. Vacancies shall be filled by the appointing authority for the unexpired term.
 - (5) Each member appointed under subsection (1)(c) to (k) of this section shall be selected by the tribal governing body of the member in accordance with the procedures of the tribe.
 - [(5)] (6) Individual nontribal groups and organizations shall not be considered for membership on the commission. Though individual nontribal groups and organizations may not be specifically represented on the commission, the commission as a whole shall serve as a forum for considering the needs and concerns of these groups and organizations as well as the needs and concerns of all American Indians in Oregon.
 - [(6)] (7) The commission shall elect a chairperson and vice chairperson for a term of one year and shall determine the duties of the officers.
 - [(7)] (8) A majority of the members of the commission constitutes a quorum for the transaction of business but no final decision may be made without an affirmative vote of the majority of the members appointed to the commission.
 - (9) Notwithstanding subsection (8) of this section, a majority of the members of the commission who are not members of the Legislative Assembly does not constitute a quorum for the transaction of business if those members are attending federal or tribal meetings, conferences, events or ceremonies.
 - [(8)] (10) Members who are not members of the Legislative Assembly may be paid compensation and expenses as provided in ORS 292.495, from such funds as may be available to the commission therefor. Members who are members of the Legislative Assembly shall be paid compensation and expense reimbursement as provided in ORS 171.072, payable from funds appropriated to the Legislative Assembly.
 - SECTION 3. This 2016 Act being necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health and safety, an emergency is declared to exist, and this 2016 Act takes effect on its passage.