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WHAT THE MEASURE DOES: 

Establishes two-tier, state mandated minimum wage rate: lower tier in 2017 is $9.25 plus adjustment for inflation 

for exempt employers, upper tier is greater amount of lower tier or $9.50 for nonexempt employers. Establishes that 

rates after 2017 are adjusted for inflation. Allows local government to set minimum wage requirements to lower tier 

level. Allows refundable personal or corporate tax credit equal to specified percentage of net increase in wages paid 

for specified hours worked by young professionals and youth and all hours worked by others. Limits this tax credit 

to employers of not more than 100 FTE, excluding youth and temporary workers. Allows employer with 50 or 

fewer employees to take personal or corporate tax credit equal to amount paid to employees above state mandated 

minimum wage required of exempt employer. Allows employer to take personal or corporate tax credit equal to 15 

percent of wages paid to youth for first 515 hours worked, excluding any wages for which other minimum wage tax 

credits are claimed. Allows personal tax credit equal to taxes that would otherwise be imposed if taxpayers total 

wages divided by hours worked do not exceed the mandated minimum wage. Allows these four tax credits to be 

taken for tax years 2017 through 2020. Changes term "minimum wage" to "state mandated minimum wage" 

throughout statutes. Refers Act to the people for their approval or rejection at the next regular general election. 

 

ISSUES DISCUSSED: 

 Wage needed to be self-sufficient or above federal poverty level  

 Initiatives to raise minimum wage that may be on November ballot 

 Demographics of low-wage workers 

 Regional variations in wages, unemployment, and cost of living 

 Whether an increase in minimum wage is an unfunded mandate on local government 

 Anticipated response from business owners 

 

EFFECT OF MINORITY AMENDMENT: 

Replaces original measure. 

 

BACKGROUND: 

The minimum wage is the lowest hourly wage a non-exempt employee may be paid by an employer. In 1938, 

Congress set the first national minimum wage at $0.25 per hour. Currently, the federal minimum wage is $7.25 per 

hour. Oregon set a minimum wage in 1911. In 2002, Oregon voters enacted Measure 25, setting the Oregon 

minimum wage at $6.90 per hour and directing the Labor Commissioner to annually adjust the Oregon minimum 

wage for inflation as measured by the U.S. City Average Consumer Price Index for All Urban 

Consumers. Oregon’s minimum wage is currently $9.25 per hour. It did not increase in 2016 as the change in the 

CPI was too small to trigger an increase. 
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