



















Lane County Legal Aid and Advocacy Center John VanLandingham





Vote Aye on HB 4143B

HB 4143B will provide modest and common-sense amendments to Oregon's Residential Landlord-Tenant Act. As a component of a comprehensive approach to housing issues in 2016, the bill comes to you with the support of the above-referenced multi-disciplinary stakeholders urging an Aye vote.

HB 4143B addresses three issues:

- More notice for tenants in month-to-month rental agreements prior to rent increases. Approximately 40% of Oregonians are renters. In this tight rental market, renters face a real threat of homelessness if subject to a sudden rent increase. The bill:
 - o Increases the notice prior to a rent increase from 30 days to 90 days, to allow families a reasonable time to plan.
 - Stabilizes rent within the first year of a tenancy.
- Increases the permissible fine amount for violation of a non-smoking provision of a rental agreement.
- Technical fix to the law about emergency exits from bedrooms. Current law requires any bedroom in a rental unit to have a secondary means of exit that is up to code. Landlord and tenant advocates agree that a technical amendment is necessary to ensure that the building code in question is the one that was in effect at the time of construction or remodel.

These reasonable and common-sense solutions will help landlords, tenants and their communities remain stable, healthy, and successful.

We urge your Aye Vote.