



























## **HB 4143: Oregon Tenant Protections**

Tenants in month-to-month rentals need protection from sudden rent increases. Housing stability has never been more at risk for Oregon renters. Oregon has the nation's lowest rental vacancy rates, and top-tier annual rent increases. Approximately 40% of Oregonians are renters, and most renters are in month-to-month rental agreements. In this upside-down market, renters face a real threat of homelessness if subject to a sudden rent increase. This housing crisis is impacting families in all areas of the state.

## **Solutions**

Stable housing is the key to opportunity. These reasonable and common-sense solutions will help tenants and their communities remain stable, healthy, and successful:

- **Protection from Sudden Rent Increases**. Under current law, landlords can raise the rent in month-to-month tenancies with only 30 days' notice. In many instances, tenant rents increase substantially with only 30 days to plan for the new expense. In some cases, rent increases are imposed as a bait-and-switch on a tenant, only months after a tenant has moved in. Sudden, unplanned rent increases can lead to eviction and homelessness.
  - Landlords should provide at least 90 days' notice prior to a rent increase, to allow families a reasonable time to plan. This has been law in manufactured home park tenancies for approximately 30 years.
  - Rent increases should be prohibited within the first year of a tenancy.

Studies show that the sudden loss of a home is a cause of lasting poverty. Renters forced to move at short notice struggle to avoid homelessness, and suffer long-term workplace, education, and mental and physical health consequences. The protections provided by HB 4143 are critically important to protect the stability of the 40% of Oregon households at risk of sudden rent increases. We urge your Aye vote.

Last updated: Feb. 15, 2016