

TO:	The Honorable Senator Betsy Johnson, Co-Chair
	The Honorable Representative David Gomberg, Co-Chair
	The Honorable Senator Bill Hansell
	The Honorable Senator Rod Monroe
	The Honorable Representative Mike Nearman
	The Honorable Representative Tobias Read
	The Honorable Representative Gail Whitsett
	The Honorable Representative Brad Witt
FROM:	Robert Ault, Assistant Director, Infrastructure Finance
DATE:	Friday, Jan. 29, 2016
RE:	Seismic Rehabilitation Grant Program selection process

We often receive questions about the selection process for the Seismic Rehabilitation Grant Program. To help address those questions, we've prepared the following answers. Please let us know if you have any additional questions that aren't answer below.

Who can apply?

For schools: Public K-12 school districts, community colleges and education service districts

For emergency services: The emphasis is on first responder buildings. That includes fire stations, police stations, sheriff's offices, 9-1-1 centers and Emergency Operations Centers and hospital buildings with acute in-patient care facilities.

Who manages the grant program?

The Infrastructure Finance Authority, a division of Business Oregon, also known as the Oregon Business Development Department. Robert Ault is Business Oregon's Interim Assistant Director for Infrastructure Finance. Gloria Zacharias is the program coordinator for the Seismic Rehabilitation Grant Program.

How much are the grants?

The grants are capped in statute at \$1.5 million. Schools and emergency service organizations can provide their own additional funds for larger projects.

What types of projects are eligible?

Eligible activities

- Structural improvements including non-structural
- Architecture & Engineering
- Project management

Ineligible activities

- Demolition/rebuild or new construction
- Buildings located in the Tsunami Inundation Zone
- Solely non-structural projects (e.g., chimney removal/bracing)

Who selects the projects to be funded?

In ORS 782, the Legislature required the Infrastructure Finance Authority to create an Advisory Committee to review applications and make a final decision on the grant awards. We have committees to review schools and emergency services applications. The members are:

Schools

- Sean McCormick, Oregon Office of Emergency Management*
- Yumei Wang, Department of Geology*
- Walter McMonies, Oregon Seismic Safety Policy Advisory Commission*
- Chuck Bennett, Confederation of Oregon School Administrators*
- Steve Ponce, Department of Administrative Services*
- Rick Crager, Department of Education*
- David Zerbe, Department of Community Colleges and Workforce Development
- Joe Johnson, Oregon Community Colleges Association
- Vacant, Oregon University System
- Morgan Allen, Oregon School Boards Association
- Albert H. Newman, public at-large

Emergency Services

- Sean McCormick, Oregon Office of Emergency Management*
- Drew Hagedorn, Oregon Association of Hospitals and Health Systems*
- Joe Parrott, Oregon Fire Chief's Association*
- Eric Bush, Oregon Association of Chiefs of Police*
- Vacant, Oregon Health Authority*
- Thomas Bergin, Oregon State Sheriff's Association
- Randy Blackburn, Department of Human Services

- Rebai Tamerhoulet, League of Oregon Cities
- Jay Dixon, Association of Oregon Counties
- Mike Lueck, Oregon Emergency Management Association
- Michael Kubler, Providence Health & Services

* Positions required by statute

How does the Advisory Committee decide which applications to approve?

The committee scores and ranks the applications based on:

Benefit Cost Analysis score: This is an industry accepted scoring system. The committee relies on an analysis custom-built for Oregon by consultant Dr. Ken Goettel, a nationally recognized expert on the benefit-cost analysis of mitigation projects for seismic events. He also built the benefit-cost analysis system used by the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

Project readiness: The applicant must have the staff and resources to manage the project within the required timeframe.

Scope of work: The project scope must be detailed and describe both the identified building deficiencies and the corresponding improvements. The scope should correlate directly to the preliminary engineering report. If the seismic rehabilitation work is part of a larger building improvement project, that should be identified as well.

Financial feasibility: The applicant must demonstrate that it has the financial resources to pay for the project with the grant, its own resources or other federal, state or private partnerships.

Community impact: The committee reviews how the project and facility fits into the community's broader mitigation and preparedness efforts.

Seismic Rehabilitation Grant Program 2013-15 School Awards

Organization	Building	City	Amount
Bandon	Bandon High School Classroom Building	Bandon	\$824,496
Central Curry	Riley Creek Elementary	Gold Beach	\$1,135,126
Douglas County	Roseburg High School Gym	Roseburg	\$1,500,000
Klamath Falls	Klamath High School Gym	Klamath Falls	\$1,500,000
LBCC	Takena Hall	Albany	\$1,470,540
Lincoln County	Toledo High School Gym	Toledo	\$1,468,092
Milton-Freewater	McLoughlin High School Gym	Milton-Freewater	\$645,995
Portland	Franklin High School	Portland	\$1,337,218
Reynolds	Reynolds Middle School Gym	Fairview	\$378,020
Salem-Keizer	Richmond Elementary	Salem	\$1,500,000
Silver Falls	Butte Creek Elementary	Mt. Angel	\$1,477,882
Silver Falls	Scotts Mills Elementary Gym	Scotts Mills	\$996,976
SWOCC	Sitkum Hall	Coos Bay	\$497,755

Total \$14,732,100

Seismic Rehabilitation Grant Program 2013-15 Emergency Service Awards

Organization	Building	City	Amount
Aurora Rural Fire Protection District	Aurora Fire Station	Aurora	\$428,826
Aurora Rural Fire Protection District	Donald Fire Station	Donald	\$255,978
City of Gladstone	Gladstone Police Depart.	Gladstone	\$360,729
City of Newport	Newport Fire Station	Newport	\$1,491,223
Clackamas Fire District	Fire Station #12	Oregon City	\$94,552
Clackamas Fire District	Fire Station #13	Beavercreek	\$71,582
Clackamas Fire District	Fire Station #16	Oregon City	\$483,062
Corvallis Fire Department	Station #2	Corvallis	\$300,896
Corvallis Fire Department	Station #3	Corvallis	\$300,896
Depoe Bay Rural Fire Protection Dist.	Depoe Bay Fire Station	Depoe Bay	\$831,418
Jackson County Airport Authority	Medford Airport Fire Station	Medford	\$209,545
Philomath Fire and Rescue	Philomath Fire Station	Philomath	\$863,080
Providence Health & Services	St. Vincent Medical Center	Portland	\$1,500,000
Sandy Fire District	Sandy Fire Main Station	Sandy	\$1,186,393
Santa Clara Fire District	Santa Clara FD Station #2	Eugene	\$915,378
Silverton Fire District	Station #2	Silverton	\$87,190
Silverton Fire District	Station #3	Silverton	\$121,817
Silverton Fire District	Station #9	Scotts Mills	\$67,601
Tualatin Valley Fire and Rescue	Fire Station #62	Aloha	\$1,005,000
Tualatin Valley Fire and Rescue	Fire Station #64	Portland	\$777,000
Tualatin Valley Fire and Rescue	Fire Station #69	Aloha	\$576,000
Washington County	Law Enforcement Center	Hillsboro	\$1,500,000

Total \$13,428,166