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In the Service of Justice

Yes on HB 4136

29 Years is Far Too Long
Help Grieving Families Facing Tragedies

In 1987, the Oregon Legislature put a limit on the value of human life: $500,000. No
matter how egregious the behavior that led to the death, the details of what happened, the
extent of the negligence or unlawful behavior, killing someone = $500,000 in non-economic
damages: one size fits all justice. 29 years have passed since this atbitrary monetary value
was placed on someone’s life.

Sadly, with caps in place, negotiations often result in settlements far less than
$500,000 because the wrongdoer knows $500,000 is the maximum penalty. Caps decrease
the incentive of defendants to settle, increasing egregious stalling tactics by those literally
banking on an injured parties’ death. In cases where the victim was a child, senior/retired
person, a stay-at-home parent, or a lower wage earnet, we place a lesser value on their lives.
In these cases, the insurance company will always negotiate down from the cap knowing that
taking the case to trial will substantially increase litigation costs and is the last thing most
people who have just lost a loved one want to do.

In a wrongful death trial, juties are not told of the cap, they listen to the facts and
award what they think is fair based on the facts. Oregon juties have not awarded huge sums
on wrongful death cases but have found individual cases where the losses to the family and
the egregiousness of the negligence warrant more than the cap. But if the jury awards more
than the cap based on the facts of the case, the judge must reduce that awatd to the arbitrary
cap of $500,000.

What the Bill Does to Show Compassion to Grieving Families
e HB 4136 would simply increase the cap on non-economic damages to $1.5M, and
index it to inflation in the future.

The Facts and Figures that Make the Case for Compassion

e The current $500,000 cap was set by the legislature 29 years ago, with no increase
since 1987.



e Even if the cap was simply adjusted for inflation, it would be over $1M today.

e Under current Oregon law, if a drunk driver maims someone in an accident, the
drunk driver is responsible for all of the harm caused. But if the drunk irresponsible
dtiver kills someone, there is an artificial cap on the value of that person’s life to
loved ones, spouses, children, and parents.

e More than a quarter of the states have no such cap whatsoever & Oregon has
no cap on compensation for injuries. The legislature should trust juries to make
these decisions. A meaningful increase is the least we can do to help these families get
a measure of justice for the loss of a loved one.

e A similar bill passed the House in 2009 by a bi-partisan 55-4 vote (HB 2802).

e In the past 15 years Oregon voters have twice rejected ballot measures that would put
a one-size-fits-all cap on justice.

e HB 4136 would give juries more flexibility to hear facts and determine case-by-case
justice for grieving families.

e The eldetly are disproportionately impacted by the death caps. Economic damages
can be recovered for loss of future earnings. But older Oregonians who are killed
through negligence are at the end of their careers and hence have less economic loss.
Similatly, families of stay-at-home patents, people with disabilities, or women who
suffer from pay inequity are perceived to have less economic value.

® The other purpose of civil suits is to improve community safety. Those who harm
others should be held responsible for their actions. Low, arbitrary caps limit
tesponsibility and limit the incentive to do the right thing and correct negligent
behavior.

I urge you to help Oregonians facing tragedies by raising the wrongful death cap.



