

















HB 4001: Oregon Tenant Protections

Tenants in month-to-month rentals need protection from unfair evictions and sudden rent increases. Housing stability has never been more at risk for Oregon renters. Oregon has the nation's lowest rental vacancy rates, and top-tier annual rent increases. Most renters are in month-to-month rental agreements, and face a real threat of homelessness if subject to a sudden rent increase or a no-cause (no-fault) eviction. Tenants suffer from unsafe or unhealthy rental conditions because they are afraid landlords will evict them if they ask for repairs. Approximately 40% of Oregonians are renters. This housing crisis is impacting families in all areas of the state.

Solutions: Stable housing is the key to opportunity. These reasonable and modest solutions will help tenants and their communities remain stable, healthy and successful:

- **Protection from Sudden "No-Cause" Eviction**. Under current Oregon law, landlords can evict tenants in month-to-month rental agreements without cause. Tenants get only 30 days' notice (or 60 days if they have been living in the unit for more than a year). A tenant has few defenses to a no-cause notice; the tenant must move, or risk eviction and a negative court record. In today's market, it is often impossible to find a new home within the allotted time. Eviction has lasting impact on families and is a cause of poverty, homelessness, and school and job instability. Renting families should not have to worry about suddenly losing their home and stability due to an eviction without cause.
 - Tenants should have at least 90 days' notice prior to a no-cause eviction.
 - Tenants should get one month's rent credit after receiving a no-cause eviction, to help with the rising costs of finding and moving into new housing, and to prevent homelessness.
- **Protection from Sudden Rent Increases**. Under current law, landlords can raise the rent by any amount in month-to-month tenancies, with only 30 days' notice. In many instances, tenant rents increase substantially with only 30 days to plan for the new expense. In some cases, rent increases are imposed only months after move-in. Sudden rent increases can lead to eviction and homelessness.



















HB 4001: Oregon Tenant Protections

- Landlords should provide at least 90 days' notice prior to a rent increase, to allow families a reasonable time to plan. This has also been law in manufactured home park tenancies for approximately 30 years.
- Rent increases should be prohibited within the first year of tenancy.
- **Protection Against Retaliation**: In this tight market, tenants are afraid to request repairs, identify code violations, or exercise other rights, for fear of retaliatory eviction. Retaliation is prohibited by current law, but challenging an eviction on this theory is difficult without legal representation, and many tenants cannot afford to take that risk. Thus, many families are living in unsafe conditions.
 - Restore the prior statutory rebuttable presumption that a no-cause eviction used within 6 months of a valid repair request is retaliatory.

Last Update: Feb. 1, 2016