Enrolled Senate Resolution 3

Sponsored by Senator HANSELL; Senators BAERTSCHIGER JR, BATES, BEYER, BOQUIST, BURDICK, COURTNEY, DEMBROW, DEVLIN, EDWARDS, FERRIOLI, GELSER, GIROD, HASS, JOHNSON, KNOPP, KRUSE, MONNES ANDERSON, MONROE, OLSEN, PROZANSKI, RILEY, ROBLAN, ROSENBAUM, SHIELDS, STEINER HAYWARD, THATCHER, THOMSEN, WHITSETT, WINTERS

Whereas University of Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota is the first Ducks football player ever to win the Heisman Trophy; and

Whereas Marcus Mariota won the 2014 Heisman Trophy by 90.9 percent of the votes cast, the second-highest percentage of possible points in Heisman history; and

Whereas in 2014 Marcus Mariota earned the highest passer rating in the nation and ranked fifth in total offense, with 342.5 yards per game; and

Whereas Marcus Mariota secured Pacific-12 (Pac-12) Conference records for career total touchdowns and single-season total touchdowns, as well as the University of Oregon team records for career total offensive yards, career passing yards, career passing touchdowns, single-season total offensive yards, single-season passing yards and single-season passing touchdowns; and

Whereas in addition to the Heisman Trophy, Marcus Mariota is the first University of Oregon player to win a slew of other awards, including the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, the Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award, Walter Camp Player of the Year, the Maxwell Award and the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award; and

Whereas Marcus Mariota has been first and foremost a team player, leading Oregon to the Rose Bowl on January 1, 2015, where they routed the Florida State Seminoles in a record-breaking 59-20 victory to advance to the 2015 College Football Playoff National Championship; and

Whereas Marcus Mariota could have entered the National Football League draft after the 2013 season and been a top pick but decided instead to return to school to finish his bachelor's degree in general science with an emphasis in human physiology and to help his team with the national championship; and

Whereas Marcus Mariota was selected for the Pac-12 Conference All-Academic Second Team; and

Whereas Marcus Mariota's athletic excellence, leadership, academic perseverance and dedicated service to the community have rightfully earned him his place as one of the most celebrated players in Oregon history and in all of college football; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Senate of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Senate of the Seventy-eighth Legislative Assembly, honor and celebrate University of Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota for his 2014 Heisman Trophy win and for his exemplary athletic prowess, academic excellence, leadership skills and character.

Adopted by Senate June 16, 2015	
Lori L. Brocker, Secretary of Senate	
Peter Courtney, President of Senate	