Senate Concurrent Resolution 9

Sponsored by Senator ROSENBAUM, Representative BARKER; Senators BAERTSCHIGER JR, BATES, BEYER, BURDICK, COURTNEY, DEMBROW, DEVLIN, EDWARDS, GELSER, GIROD, HANSELL, HASS, JOHNSON, KRUSE, MONNES ANDERSON, MONROE, PROZANSKI, RILEY, ROBLAN, SHIELDS, STEINER HAYWARD, THOMSEN, WINTERS, Representatives BARTON, BOONE, BUCKLEY, CLEM, DOHERTY, EVANS, FREDERICK, GORSEK, GREENLICK, KENY-GUYER, MCKEOWN, MCLAIN, NOSSE, PILUSO, REARDON, WITT

SUMMARY

The following summary is not prepared by the sponsors of the measure and is not a part of the body thereof subject to consideration by the Legislative Assembly. It is an editor's brief statement of the essential features of the measure **as introduced.**

Recognizes Portland Winterhawks for their four consecutive Western Conference championships from 2011 to 2014.

CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

2	Whereas the Portland Winterhawks are a major junior ice hockey team based in Portland
3	Oregon, playing in the Western Hockey League; and
4	Whereas the Portland Winterhawks have been the Western Hockey League Western Conference
5	champions in 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014; and
6	Whereas the Portland Winterhawks are just the fourth team in league history and the first since
7	1978 to win four consecutive Western Conference championship titles; and
8	Whereas the Portland Winterhawks have been in Portland since the 1976-1977 season; and
9	Whereas 2014 marks the 100-year anniversary of hockey in Portland; and
10	Whereas the Portland Winterhawks Hockey Club and Winterhawks Skating Center charitable
11	activities promote active and healthy lifestyles by introducing local youth of Oregon and southwest
12	Washington to ice sports and related activities as lifelong options for fitness and recreation; and
13	Whereas over 100 Portland Winterhawks alumni have graduated to play in the National Hockey
14	League; and
15	Whereas the Portland Winterhawks continue to make progress toward their goal of bringing
16	another Western Hockey League championship to Portland and the State of Oregon; now, therefore
17	Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:
18	That we, the members of the Seventy-eighth Legislative Assembly, congratulate the Portland
19	Winterhawks players and organization for their contribution to sports excellence in Oregon.

NOTE: Matter in **boldfaced** type in an amended section is new; matter [*italic and bracketed*] is existing law to be omitted. New sections are in **boldfaced** type.

1

20