Enrolled

Senate Concurrent Resolution 9

Sponsored by Senator ROSENBAUM, Representative BARKER; Senators BAERTSCHIGER JR, BATES, BEYER, BURDICK, COURTNEY, DEMBROW, DEVLIN, EDWARDS, GELSER, GIROD, HANSELL, HASS, JOHNSON, KRUSE, MONNES ANDERSON, MONROE, OLSEN, PROZANSKI, RILEY, ROBLAN, SHIELDS, STEINER HAYWARD, THOMSEN, WINTERS, Representatives BARTON, BOONE, BUCKLEY, CLEM, DOHERTY, EVANS, FREDERICK, GORSEK, GREENLICK, KENY-GUYER, MCKEOWN, MCLAIN, MCLANE, NOSSE, PILUSO, REARDON, WITT

Whereas the Portland Winterhawks are a major junior ice hockey team based in Portland, Oregon, playing in the Western Hockey League; and

Whereas the Portland Winterhawks have been the Western Hockey League Western Conference champions in 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014; and

Whereas the Portland Winterhawks are just the fourth team in league history and the first since 1978 to win four consecutive Western Conference championship titles; and

Whereas the Portland Winterhawks have been in Portland since the 1976-1977 season; and

Whereas 2014 marks the 100-year anniversary of hockey in Portland; and

Whereas the Portland Winterhawks Hockey Club and Winterhawks Skating Center charitable activities promote active and healthy lifestyles by introducing local youth of Oregon and southwest Washington to ice sports and related activities as lifelong options for fitness and recreation; and

Whereas over 100 Portland Winterhawks alumni have graduated to play in the National Hockey League; and

Whereas the Portland Winterhawks continue to make progress toward their goal of bringing another Western Hockey League championship to Portland and the State of Oregon; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Seventy-eighth Legislative Assembly, congratulate the Portland Winterhawks players and organization for their contribution to sports excellence in Oregon.

Adopted by Senate March 24, 2015
Lori L. Brocker, Secretary of Senate
Peter Courtney, President of Senate
Adopted by House June 11, 2015
Tina Kotek, Speaker of House