Enrolled Senate Bill 366

Printed pursuant to Senate Interim Rule 213.28 by order of the President of the Senate in conformance with presession filing rules, indicating neither advocacy nor opposition on the part of the President (at the request of Senate Interim Committee on Judiciary for Oregon Criminal Justice Commission)

CHAPTER	
CHAPTER	

AN ACT

Relating to recidivism; amending ORS 423.557.

Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

SECTION 1. ORS 423.557 is amended to read:

423.557. (1) As used in this section, "recidivism" means the arrest, conviction or incarceration of a person who has previously been convicted of a crime, if the arrest, conviction or incarceration[:]

- [(a)] is for a new crime and occurs:
- [(A)] (a) Three years or less after the date the person was convicted of the previous crime; or
- [(B)] (b) Three years or less after the date the person was released from custody, if the person was incarcerated as a result of the conviction for the previous crime. [; or]
 - [(b) Is for any reason and occurs:]
 - [(A) Three years or less after the date the person was convicted of the previous crime; or]
- [(B) Three years or less after the date the person was released from custody, if the person was incarcerated as a result of the conviction for the previous crime.]
- (2) When the Oregon Department of Administrative Services, the Department of Corrections, the Oregon Criminal Justice Commission or any other public body as defined in ORS 174.109 conducts a statistical evaluation of the rate at which persons convicted of a crime recidivate, the public body shall include an evaluation of recidivism as that term is defined in **subsection** (1) of this section.[:]
 - [(a) Subsection (1)(a) of this section; and]
 - [(b) Subsection (1)(b) of this section.]

Passed by Senate February 19, 2015	Received by Governor:
	, 2015
Lori L. Brocker, Secretary of Senate	Approved:
	, 2015
Peter Courtney, President of Senate	
Passed by House May 13, 2015	Kate Brown, Governor
	Filed in Office of Secretary of State:
Tina Kotek, Speaker of House	, 2015
	Jeanne P. Atkins, Secretary of State