## Enrolled

## **House Joint Memorial 1**

Sponsored by Representative DOHERTY, Senator BURDICK (Presession filed.)

To the United States Postmaster General, the other members of the Board of Governors of the United States Postal Service and the Senate and the House of Representatives of the United States of America, in Congress assembled:

We, your memorialists, the Seventy-eighth Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon, in legislative session assembled, respectfully represent as follows:

Whereas the city of Tigard is a dynamic and rapidly growing city in Washington County; and

Whereas Tigard was first settled by Wilson M. Tigard and several other families in 1852; and

Whereas Tigard's roots were as a small farming community, but the arrival of the Oregon Electric Railway in 1910 led to a period of rapid growth and development; and

Whereas Tigard incorporated as an independent city in 1961; and

Whereas Tigard has continued to experience rapid growth, with a population growth of more than 16 percent during the first decade of the 21st century; and

Whereas 50,444 people live in Tigard; and

Whereas Portland is a separate and distinct city located in Multnomah County; and

Whereas the United States Postal Service uses zip codes 97223 and 97224 within Tigard, but considers those zip codes as part of Portland; and

Whereas the United States Postal Service does not recognize addresses within the borders of the city of Tigard as being within Tigard; now, therefore,

## Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

- (1) The Postmaster General and the United States Postal Service Board of Governors are respectfully urged to recognize those addresses within the borders of the city of Tigard as being within Tigard in United States Postal Service documentation.
- (2) A copy of this memorial shall be sent to the Postmaster General, to each other member of the United States Postal Service Board of Governors and to each member of the Oregon Congressional Delegation.

Adopted by House March 24, 2015
Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House
Tina Kotek, Speaker of House
Adopted by Senate April 8, 2015

Peter Courtney, President of Senate