## **Enrolled**

## **House Concurrent Resolution 14**

Sponsored by Representative KENY-GUYER, Senator WINTERS, Representative MCKEOWN

Whereas epilepsy is a neurological disorder producing brief disturbances in the normal electrical functions of the brain that temporarily affect a person's consciousness, bodily movements or sensations, while resulting in long-term effects on the lifestyle of individuals with epilepsy; and

Whereas 1 in 26 persons will develop epilepsy and 1 in 10 persons will have an epileptic seizure during the person's lifetime; and

Whereas it is estimated that 50 million people worldwide and over 37,000 people in Oregon are living with epilepsy; and

Whereas epilepsy can affect anyone regardless of gender, race, age, religion, educational background or socioeconomic status; and

Whereas the public is often unable to recognize common seizure types or to respond with appropriate first aid; and

Whereas there is no known cure for epilepsy, which is a complex disorder that requires further research to find a cure and prevention methods; and

Whereas the annual observance of Purple Day on March 26 brings attention to the need to advocate for the rights, humane treatment and appropriate education of all persons with epilepsy, while raising awareness among families, professionals and the general public so that they may better understand this lifelong disorder; now, therefore,

## Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Seventy-eighth Legislative Assembly, proclaim March 26, 2015, as Purple Day; and be it further

Resolved, That we invite all Oregonians to participate in Purple Day by wearing purple, and we call upon all citizens, government agencies, public and private institutions, businesses and schools to recommit our communities to increasing awareness and understanding of epilepsy through education while ensuring that all individuals with epilepsy are able to lead productive lives.

Adopted by House February 18, 2015
Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House
Tina Kotek, Speaker of House
Adopted by Senate March 19, 2015

Peter Courtney, President of Senate