Enrolled House Bill 3539

Sponsored by Representatives GOMBERG, MCKEOWN, Senators ROBLAN, JOHNSON; Representatives BOONE, KRIEGER, Senators KRUSE, WHITSETT (at the request of the Oregon Legislative Assembly Coastal Caucus)

| CHAPTER | |
|---------|--|
|---------|--|

AN ACT

Relating to a week to celebrate oysters.

Whereas oyster farming has been part of Oregon's history since the mid-1800s; and

Whereas demand for Oregon oysters is increasing well beyond current production capacity; and

Whereas oysters are a sustainably grown food source; and

Whereas the oyster industry supports the economic vitality of Oregon's coastal communities, directly employing over 1,000 people involved in producing, harvesting, distributing and selling Oregon oysters; and

Whereas in the United States, sales of cultivated marine seafood grew 13 percent per year on average from 2007 to 2011, largely led by increases in oyster production; and

Whereas the United States imports nearly 90 percent of its seafood to meet growing demand, a significant portion of which is shellfish imports; and

Whereas Oregon oyster farms ship their products all over the United States as well as to international markets in Asia and Canada; and

Whereas the Whiskey Creek Shellfish Hatchery and Oregon State University have been at the forefront of cutting edge ocean acidification monitoring and response efforts; and

Whereas Oregon oysters have a national and international reputation for gourmet quality; now, therefore,

Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

<u>SECTION 1.</u> The fourth week in April of each year is designated as Oregon Oyster Week, beginning on Sunday and ending the following Saturday, and all Oregonians are encouraged to join in observing the week by enjoying fine Oregon oysters.

| Passed by House April 21, 2015 | Received by Governor: |
|--|--|
| | , 2015 |
| Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House | Approved: |
| | , 2015 |
| Tina Kotek, Speaker of House | |
| Passed by Senate June 10, 2015 | Kate Brown, Governor |
| | Filed in Office of Secretary of State: |
| Peter Courtney, President of Senate | , 2015 |
| | Jeanne P. Atkins, Secretary of State |