78th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY--2015 Regular Session

## Enrolled House Bill 3187

Sponsored by Representative KOMP

CHAPTER .....

## AN ACT

Relating to the Commission for the Blind; creating new provisions; and amending ORS 346.130.

## Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

**SECTION 1.** ORS 346.130 is amended to read:

346.130. (1) The Commission for the Blind shall be appointed by the Governor and shall consist of **the following** seven members:

(a) Four members who are qualified persons within the legal definition of persons who are blind; and

(b) Three members appointed from among the areas of employers, labor, optometry, ophthalmology, and education of persons who are blind. However, no more than one appointee shall represent the same area during the same term. To the greatest extent possible, appointments from the five areas shall be made on a rotating basis.

(2) The term of office of a member of the commission is [two] four years. Vacancy in the office of a member shall be filled by the Governor for the unexpired term. Any member who is absent from three consecutive commission meetings or more than one-third of the scheduled meetings in one year shall be removed from office and the Governor shall fill the vacancy for the unexpired term. A person may not serve on the commission for more than three consecutive terms [of one year or more in length]. A person who serves two years or more of a term shall be considered to have served a full term.

(3) All appointments of members of the commission by the Governor are subject to confirmation by the Senate in the manner provided in ORS 171.562 and 171.565.

(4) The commission shall hold meetings at least once every two months and such additional meetings as it may deem necessary.

(5) Each member is entitled to compensation and expenses as provided in ORS 292.495.

<u>SECTION 2.</u> Notwithstanding ORS 346.130 (2), a person may serve on the Commission for the Blind for more than three consecutive terms if:

(1) The person is serving a term on the effective date of this 2015 Act or had served a term prior to the effective date of this 2015 Act; and

(2) The person does not serve on the commission for more than 12 consecutive years.

Passed by House April 30, 2015	Received by Governor:
Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House	Approved:
Tina Kotek, Speaker of House	
Passed by Senate May 20, 2015	Kate Brown, Governor
	Filed in Office of Secretary of State:
Peter Courtney, President of Senate	

Jeanne P. Atkins, Secretary of State