FISCAL IMPACT OF PROPOSED LEGISLATION

Seventy-Eighth Oregon Legislative Assembly – 2015 Regular Session Legislative Fiscal Office

Only Impacts on Original or Engrossed Versions are Considered Official

Measure: HB 2803 - A

Prepared by: Theresa McHugh Reviewed by: Michelle Deister Date: April 16, 2015

Measure Description:

Requires Oregon Liquor Control Commission to include certain information in orders approving beverage container redemption centers.

Government Unit(s) Affected:

Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC)

Summary of Expenditure Impact:

See Analysis below

Local Government Mandate:

This bill does not affect local governments' service levels or shared revenues sufficient to trigger Section 15, Article XI of the Oregon Constitution.

Analysis:

HB 2803-8 modifies the beverage container redemption program, provides penalties for violations of the law, and establishes new requirements for program to be administered and enforced by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC). The measure also modifies requirements for beverage container dealers and requires non-participating dealers to provide documentation of compliance to OLCC. Among the new requirements on OLCC are the following:

- Ensure compliance with redemption center orders by certain beverage retailers,
- Provide notification to non-participating dealers within five days of approval of a redemption center, and
- Monitor retailer volume reports, issue warning letters, and impose civil penalties to non-compliant retailers within specified timelines.

While the fiscal impact cannot be completely known, OLCC estimates that there will be an Other Funds cost of \$133,738 in 2015-17 and \$137,540 in 2017-19. This is to cover the personal services and associated costs of one additional position (0.75 FTE in 2015-17, 1.00 FTE in 2017-19) to manage the increased workload anticipated under the measure. OLCC indicates that they have absorbed the additional work to date, but would not be able to absorb the additional workload that would be generated by the measure. The agency anticipates that the number of dealers may at least double in 2015-17, from 180 eligible retailers to 370 by the end of the biennium.

Page 1 of 1 HB 2803 - A