78th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY – 2015 Regular Session **MEASURE: HB 2879 A CARRIER:**

Preliminary STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

Senate Committee on Rules

REVENUE: No revenue impact

FISCAL: Minimal fiscal impact, no statement issued

Action: Vote:

> Yeas: Navs:

Exc.:

Erin Seiler, Administrator **Prepared By:**

Meeting Dates: 6/18

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES: Directs Board of Pharmacy (BOP) to adopt rules allowing licensed pharmacist to prescribe and dispense hormonal contraceptive patches and self-administered oral hormonal contraceptives to person who is at least 18 years of age or person under 18 years of age, if that person has evidence of previous prescription. Directs BOP to work in consultation with Oregon Medical Board, Oregon State Board of Nursing and Oregon Health Authority, with consideration of American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists guidelines, to develop standard procedures for prescribing contraceptives. Specifies that rules need to include: BOP-approved training program; requirement that patient use self-screening risk assessment tool prior to pharmacist prescribing contraceptive; that pharmacist advise and refer patient to patient's primary care practitioner upon prescribing and dispensing contraceptive; provides patient with written record of contraceptive prescribed and dispensed. Rules require pharmacists to ensure that patient has seen provider once every three years after initial prescription and prohibits pharmacist from requiring patient to schedule appointment prior to prescribing and dispensing contraceptive. Defines oral contraceptive patch. Applies all state and federal laws governing insurance coverage of prescription contraceptive drugs, devices and products to contraceptive prescribed by pharmacist. Establishes January 1, 2016 as operative date. Declares an emergency, effective on passage.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF COMMITTEE AMENDMENT:

-A9 amendment: Inserts "women's health care practitioner" as to whom pharmacist may refer patient to or advise patient to consult upon dispensing contraceptive. Sunsets provisions relating to age limitation on prescribing and dispensing hormonal contraceptive patches and self-administered oral hormonal contraceptives on January 1, 2020.

BACKGROUND: The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists supports improved access to contraceptives for women. Research has shown that with increased access to contraception, unintended pregnancies decrease. In 2013, California was the first state to pass a law allowing women to go directly to a pharmacist to get a prescription for birth control pills.

Additionally, proponents assert that if a pharmacist can dispense emergency contraceptives, they should be allowed to dispense preventive ones.