MEASURE: SR 3 CARRIER:

REVENUE: No revenue impact FISCAL: No fiscal impact	
Action:	
Vote:	
Yeas:	
Nays:	
Exc.:	
Prepared By:	Erin Seiler, Administrator
Meeting Dates:	6/4

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES: Honors 2014 Heisman Trophy winner Marcus Mariota.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF COMMITTEE AMENDMENT: No amendment.

BACKGROUND: University of Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota became the first Ducks football player to win the Heisman Trophy, winning the 2014 trophy by 90.9 percent of the votes cast. As the Ducks starting quarterback from 2012 to 2014, he rushed for 15 touchdowns and passed for 105 against just 14 interceptions. At the 2015 National Football League draft, he was drafted number two overall by the Tennessee Titans.

In addition to winning the Heisman Trophy, Mariota was honored with the Maxwell Award, Davey O'Brien National QB Award, Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award in 2014, selected as the Walter Camp Player of the Year, Associated Press Player of the Year, Walter Camp first-team All-America and Associated Press first-team All-American. He was also selected as Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Year and 2015 Rose Bowl Offensive MVP.

Senate Resolution 3 honors and celebrates Marcus Mariota for his 2014 Heisman Trophy win.