Executive Appointments Legislative Review Compiled by Oregon Legislative Committee Services

OFFICE: Business Development Commission, Oregon

APPOINTEE: Jessica Gomez of Medford; New appointment replacing Root

Keith Leavitt of Portland; New appointment replacing Yoshida

APPOINTMENT/CONFIRMATION AUTHORITY: ORS 285A.404

TERM: Four-year terms: July 1, 2015 – June 30, 2019

ECONOMIC INTEREST FILING (ORS 244.050): Not required.

STATUTORY QUALIFICATIONS: ORS 285A.040

Affirmative action policy: See ORS 182.100. Diversity criteria: See ORS 236.115.

- Nine members:
 - One nonvoting member appointed from among the members of the Senate by the President of the Senate (JOHNSON)
 - One nonvoting member appointed from among the members of the House of Representatives by the Speaker of the House of Representatives (READ)
 - o Seven members in compliance with all of the following:
 - Representation of the different geographic regions of the state, and at least one member shall be a resident of the area east of the Cascade Range (WARNER)
 - Not more than five members may belong to one political party
 - Democrat (FLYNN, HARMON JOHNSON, McCORMACK, SEMLER)
 - Republican: (**GOMEZ, LEAVITT**, WARNER)
 - Members shall be appointed with consideration given to representation of the following areas of expertise or training:
 - (i) International trade
 - (ii) Traded sector business development;
 - (iii) Small business development;
 - (iv) Local economic development;
 - (v) Finance and business investment;
 - (vi) Innovation; or
 - (vii) Other areas of training or expertise identified by the Governor
- Members serve four year terms and are eligible for more than two full terms
- The term of office of the member appointed by the President of the Senate is four years
- The term of office of the member appointed by the Speaker of the House is two years
- Governor shall appoint one of the voting commissioners as presiding officer of the commission

DUTIES AND AUTHORITY ORS: ORS 285A.045, ORS 285A.050, ORS 285A.055

- The Commission shall develop and maintain the economic development policy and strategy for this state outlined in ORS 285A.020.
- Provide oversight and direction to the Oregon Business Development Department in carrying out the economic development policies and strategy established by the commission.
- May perform any other duty vested in the commission by law.

- The commission shall keep complete and accurate records of all the meetings, transactions and business of the commission at the office of the department and report biennially to Governor and Legislature
- When a power, duty or function is vested in the commission, the commission may designate department officers, agents, employees or committee members to exercise the power, duty or function of the commission.
- The commission may prepare and submit suggested administrative rules to the Director of the Oregon Business Development Department that the commission determines are necessary for the objectives and programs of the department.
- The Commission, prior to the approval of bond financing of economic development projects under ORS 285B.320 to 285B.371, the making of loans or the granting of any moneys from any source shall
 - o Determine that the action is cost effective
 - o Find that the project will produce goods or services which are sold in markets for which national or international competition exists
 - o Determine that the action is the best use of the moneys involved
 - o Find that the project involved is consistent with the Oregon Business Development Department's comprehensive policy and programs
 - o Find that the project involved is consistent with applicable adopted local economic development plans

Revised May 4, 2015 Erin Seiler

Executive Appointments Board Roster

Business Development Commission, Oregon

Agency: Economic Development Po

Authorization: ORS 285A.040

Members: Min: 9 Max: 9
Term Length: 4 years Limit: 2
Senate confirmation required? Yes

Policy Area: Jobs/Economy

Board Contact: Denise Thayer

Business Development Department 775 Summer Street NE, Suite 200

Salem, OR 97301 503-229-5009

denise.thayer@oregon.gov

Current Appointments:

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)

Erin K Flynn, Chair

Democrat Position Number: 3

Term(s): 09-18-2013 - 06-30-2017

Jessica L Gomez

Democrat Position Number: 9

Term(s): 07-01-2015 - 06-30-2019

Nkenge Harmon Johnson

Position Number: 2 Term(s): 09-18-2013 - 06-30-2015

Betsy Johnson, Senator

Senate President's Appointment; Non-voting Ex-Officio Position Number: 7

Keith A Leavitt

Republican Position Number: 8

Term(s): 07-01-2015 - 06-30-2019

Win McCormack

Democrat Position Number: 1

Term(s): 07-01-2012 - 06-30-2016

Tobias Read

House Speaker's Appointment; Non-voting Ex-Officio Position Number: 6

Term(s): 01-07-2011 - 01-06-2013

12-12-2013 -

Anne H Root

Republican Position Number: 9

Term(s): 07-01-2011 - 06-30-2015

02-18-2008 - 06-30-2011

Printed Date: 4/14/2015 Page 1 of 2

Executive Appointments Board Roster

Policy Area: Jobs/Economy

Position Number: 4

Business Development Commission, Oregon

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)

Gregory T Semler

Democrat

Term(s): 07-01-2013 - 06-30-2017

03-01-2010 - 06-30-2013

Fred Warner, Jr

Republican Position Number: 5

Term(s): 07-01-2013 - 06-30-2017

Junki Yoshida

Republican Position Number: 8

Term(s): 07-01-2011 - 06-30-2015 02-18-2008 - 06-30-2011

Printed Date: 4/14/2015 Page 2 of 2