Members of the Senate Judiciary Committee,

We are against any expansion of Oregon's current firearms background check, to include SB 941. We do not believe that it will have a measurable impact on gun violence or the ability of criminals to gain access to firearms, but yet will unquestionably have a very significant impact on law-abiding gun owners as they attempt to exercise their rights.

We urge you to look at the facts published by the FBI, Oregon State Police, and other unbiased sources of data when you consider SB 941. It is common practice for the proponents of bills such as SB 941 to repeat misleading and untruthful statistics without themselves having first verified them.

If you are tempted to support SB 941 then consider these points:

- Why is this an emergency when the people of Oregon have refused this bill in the past?
- Senator Hass has made it clear that the next "loophole" that he plans to close is the one allowing transfers between family members without a background check. Do you support that bill and its predecessor that is before you today?
- What will a business have to charge to service a non-customer while on the phone for 10-20 minutes conducting the background check?
- Is it a burden to a citizen if loaning a firearm to a friend costs \$20 in OSP fees plus another \$60 or more in FFL dealer fees to perform the two background checks?
- How is a transfer to be performed outside of normal business hours?
- Does OSP have the resources to maintain the current wait times or will the FFL dealers be on hold for even longer?
- Why must the firearm's make, model, serial number, and other details be recorded in order to vet a transferee?
- Why are there no exclusions for rimfire, single shot, or single action firearms, or double barreled shotguns that are rarely if ever used to commit a crime?
- Why does a transfer between two people possessing a CHL require additional background checks?
- Why not have a provision allowing the transfer to be automatically approved in 24 hours if OSP is unable to approve or deny the transfer by then?
- Why is there a background check to return a firearm to its owner?
- Considering that Oregon case law says that you are only hunting or fishing while engaged in that act and excludes travel and lodging, why no allow a temporary transfer for hunting and target practices to take place up to a week before and a week after the activity takes place?
- Will this bill to anything to stop firearm thefts and the market that those thieves sell to?

A right with fees and delays is a right denied.

Sincerely,

Stephen and Christine Meliza 9885 SW Bonnie Brae Dr Beaverton, OR 97008