

March 17, 2015 DRAFT

Phone: **(541) 736-1056** Fax (541) 726-1205 1-877-285-7272 www.lrapa.org E-mail: Irapa@Irapa.org

Dear Chair Representative Jessica Vega Pederson and members of the House Committee on Energy and Environment:

My name is Mike Fleck, and I am speaking today as a citizen member and the current Chair of the Board of Directors of the Lane Regional Air Protection Agency (LRAPA). Also with me today are Merlyn Hough, Executive Director of LRAPA, and Maurie Denner, current Chair of the LRAPA Citizens Advisory Committee.

To quickly review, LRAPA is a regional air quality control authority established under ORS 468A.105; the requirements for the LRAPA Board of Directors are specified in ORS 468A.120; and the responsibilities of the LRAPA Citizens Advisory Committee are outlined in ORS 468A.130.

The intergovernmental agreement to form LRAPA in 1968 has allowed local governments to more effectively and efficiently reduce air pollution within Lane County. A recent evaluation of air quality activities in Lane County confirms that LRAPA is the most cost-effective way to meet air quality standards in our area.

LRAPA supports HB 3050 which modifies requirements for boards of directors of regional air quality control authorities.

The proposed changes in the statute are a consensus recommendation of the LRAPA Board of Directors in order to provide more equitable representation on the LRAPA Board. The proposed changes would essentially convert an at-large board position to allow the cities of Oakridge and Cottage Grove to each have their own seat on the Board instead of a shared position that rotates every two years. [The current statute does not require an at-large member unless necessary to prevent an even number of members on the board.]

The proposed changes would not change the overall make-up of the LRAPA Board of Directors: the City of Eugene would continue to have four representatives, and the City of Springfield two representatives, based on population; the Lane County Board of Commissioners would continue to have its representative; and the LRAPA Board would continue to have nine total members, consistent with the current statutory limit in ORS 468A.120. The current membership of the LRAPA Board is attached.

We are happy to answer any questions you may have for us.

Sincerely, Mike Fleck, Chair of the LRAPA Board of Directors House Committee on Energy and Environment March 19, 2015 Page 2

Lane Regional Air Protection Agency (LRAPA) Board of Directors

The current make-up of the LRAPA Board of Directors is:

	<u>Jurisdiction</u>	<u>Representative</u>	<u>Category</u>	Appointing Authority
1.	Eugene	Betty Taylor	Eugene City Councilor	Appointed by Mayor
2.	Eugene	Joe Gonzales	Eugene appointee	Appointed by Mayor
3.	Eugene	Jeannine Parisi**	Eugene appointee	Appointed by Mayor
4.	Eugene	Scott Lucas	Eugene appointee	Appointed by Mayor
5.	Springfield	Dave Ralston	Springfield City Councilor	Appointed by Mayor
6.	Springfield	Vacant	Springfield appointee	To be appointed by Mayor
7.	Lane County	Jay Bozievich	Lane County Commissioner	Appointed by Chair of BCC
8.	CG/Oakridge	Mike Fleck*	Cottage Grove City Councilor	Appointed by Mayor
9.	At-Large	Bill Brommelsiek	Mohawk Valley citizen	Selected by LRAPA Board

* 2015 Chair

** 2015 Vice-Chair

MLH:mlh (03/17/2015)