78th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY – 2015 Regular Session MEASURE: SCR 9
PRELIMINARY STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY CARRIER:

Senate Committee on Rules

REVENUE: No revenue impact FISCAL: No fiscal impact SUBSEQUENT REFERRAL TO:

Action: Vote:

Yeas: Nays: Exc.:

Prepared By: Erin Seiler, Administrator

Meeting Dates: 3/17

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES: Recognizing Portland Winterhawks for four consecutive Western Conference championships.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF COMMITTEE AMENDMENT:

BACKGROUND: The Portland Winterhawks are a major junior ice hockey team based in Portland, Oregon, playing in the Western Hockey League since the 1976-1977 season.

The Portland Winterhawks have won four consecutive Western Hockey League Western Conference championships, taking home the title in 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014. They are only the fourth team in league history, and the first since 1978, to win four consecutive championship titles. The teams recent, and historical success, and combined with the high caliber of its players, has led to over 100 Winterhawks alumni going on to play in the National Hockey League.

In addition, the Portland Winterhawks are actively involved with local youth throughout the Northwest. The Portland Winterhawks Hockey Club and Winterhawks Skating Center enable the Winterhawks to promote active and healthy lifestyles by introducing children throughout oOregon and southwest Washington to ice sports as lifelong options for fitness and recreation.

Senate Concurrent Resolution 9 congratulates the Portland Winterhawks players and organization for their contribution to sports excellence in Oregon.