



CPR in Schools

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Q: How will schools be able to find time to train students in CPR when minutes during the school day are already limited?

A: Effective CPR training can be done in less than 30 minutes. It takes less time to learn CPR than the amount of time to watch a typical TV sitcom.

Q: How much will CPR training cost a school?

A: Costs can vary depending on the type of training utilized but estimates show the per student cost being approximately \$1.00. In fact, some schools have been able to provide training at no cost using community volunteers and donated equipment. Oregon communities like Jackson County, Eugene, Springfield, West Linn, and Hood River have partnered with local fire departments and hospitals, with volunteers training and providing equipment. School districts have developed various models for providing and paying for the training and equipment, including using volunteer instructors or videobased programs, and drawing support from businesses, foundations, civic organizations and public agencies.

Q: Why is training students important?

A:.Each year, nearly 424,000 people have sudden cardiac arrest outside of a hospital, and only 10.4% of these victims survive, often because they don't receive timely CPR from someone nearby. Sudden cardiac arrest can happen any place, at any time—4 out of 5 in the U.S. happen at home. CPR is easy to learn and simple. Ensuring Oregon schools provide hands-on CPR training will create a new generation of lifesavers and make all of our communities safer.

Q: Why should the government tell our schools what they should be teaching? Why do we have to legislate this?

A: Training all students will add one million trained rescuers across the United States every few years and 45,000in Oregon. These students will be empowered to act and save lives for years to come if they witness an emergency in their community. One of the responsibilities of state government is to protect its citizens. Ensuring that school districts universally conduct CPR training fits within that responsibility.

Q: Won't CPR in Schools take time away from other more important learning?

A: No. CPR training is effectively completed in less time than it takes to watch a 30 minute TV sitcom. Students need only be trained once so we are really only talking about 30 minutes within 6 years of middle school or high school. Many schools have

incorporated CPR training into existing health and physical education classes and have found it to be an excellent complement to current curriculum.

Q: Are students really capable of administering CPR?

A: Yes. The American Heart Association does not have a minimum age requirement for people to learn CPR. The ability to perform CPR is based more on body strength rather than age. Studies have shown that middle school aged children can effectively learn and perform CPR.

Q: If someone performs CPR, aren't they liable if the person who needs CPR dies anyway?

A: Good Samaritan laws are designed to protect those who choose to serve and tend to others who are injured, ill, or otherwise incapacitated. They are intended to reduce a bystander's hesitation to assist for fear of being sued or prosecuted for unintentional injury or wrongful death, and generally protect individuals who are acting in a volunteer capacity.

Q: Why health class?

A: All middle school and high school students are required to take health class. Currently, learning about CPR is part of required curriculum for health class, however, hands-on training is not. Learning the psychomotor skill of administering CPR will ensure students are ready to step up and save a life.

Q: How are students trained in CPR?

A: Contemporary Hands-Only CPR training is much easier than training of the old days. Now CPR training includes a video and practice on a mannequin that can easily be learned in approximately 30 minutes and does not need to be taught by a certified instructor. Physical education and health teachers can teach students to perform CPR.

Q: Don't you have to be certified to perform CPR on someone?

A: No. Basic CPR training gives you the skills needed to save someone's life and does not require certification.