



625 Marion St. NE Salem, OR 97301-3737 Phone: (503) 378-4040 Toll Free: 1-800-221-8035 FAX: (503) 373-7806 www.Oregon.gov/ENERGY

March 5, 2015

To: Chair Jessica Vega Pederson

Vice Chair Mark Johnson Vice Chair Jeff Reardon

House Committee on Energy and Environment

From: Robin Freeman, Associate Director, Government Relations

Robin.Freeman@odoe.state.or.us

Subject: **HB 2448-1** 

Dear Representative Vega Pederson:

HB 2448 extends the Energy Incentives Program's sunset to Jan. 1, 2022 for conservation, alternative fuel vehicle transportation, and renewable energy development programs. The bill also allows the department to require conservation projects with eligible costs of at least \$1 million to annually recertify the tax credit to ensure greater tax credit accountability for larger projects. Lastly, HB 2448 creates a new fee to cover the costs associated with tax credit recertification.

The –1 amendment would remove the \$500 fee limit for recertification applications and allow the Oregon Department of Energy to set the fee by rule. No other EIP fee is listed or capped in statute.

The -1 amendment also clarifies that an inspection may be required during the recertification process.

Please contact Robin Freeman if you have additional questions.