

Coastal Oregon Marine Experiment Station 2030 SE Marine Science Drive, Newport, Oregon 97365 T 541-867-0230 | F 541-867-0345 | marineresearch.oregonstate.edu

February 11, 2015

Chair Val Hoyle House Committee on Rules Oregon State Capitol 900 Court Street NE, Room 64 Salem, Oregon 97301

Dear Chair Hoyle,

We deeply appreciate HCR 12 in recognition of Dr. Lavern Weber. We had the honor of being hired by Dr. Weber and worked with him at Oregon State University's Hatfield Marine Science Center in Newport, Oregon. Over the next two decades, he was our mentor, our colleague, and our friend. He helped us learn that to succeed we must build partnerships with our communities. His example helped us to explore and resolve our shared challenges, building a more robust coastal economy and enhancing coastal residents' knowledge of their environment by promoting better access to information. He taught us that persistence, creative thinking, and confidence helps move projects forward.

Dr. Weber had a vision for what the Hatfield Marine Science Center could be. In his 25 years as director, he realized that vision. He brought in new federal partners to build a dynamic research environment. He cajoled the university to invest in teaching at all levels, "K through grey." He encouraged young scientists to ask hard questions and then look for the answers. He worked with the City of Newport and Lincoln County to position the Hatfield Marine Science Center as a key part of the coastal community. He was tireless and passionate.

We support this resolution that honors Dr. Weber's contribution to Oregon State University, the Newport community, and the state of Oregon. We miss him.

Sincerely,

Dr. Gil Sylvia Professor, Applied Economics Director, Coastal Oregon Marine Experiment Station

)anit G Webster

Janet Webster Emeritus Professor, OSU Libraries Hatfield Marine Science Center Guin Library

cc: Rep. Vic Gilliam, Vice-Chair Rep. Barbara Smith Warner, Vice-Chair Rep. Phil Barnhart Rep. Bill Kennemer Rep. Mike McLane Rep. Rob Nosse Rep. Dan Rayfield Rep. Carl Wilson