## SENATE COMMITTEE ON RURAL COMMUNITIES AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

February 04, 2014 Hearing Room C

3:00 PM

MEMBERS PRESENT: Sen. Arnie Roblan, Chair

Sen. Ginny Burdick Sen. Betsy Close Sen. Floyd Prozanski

MEMBER EXCUSED: Sen. Herman Baertschiger, Vice-Chair

STAFF PRESENT: Beth Patrino, Committee Administrator

Beth Reiley, Committee Administrator Shelley Raszka, Committee Assistant

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: Organizational Meeting

**Adoption of Committee Rules** 

SB 1514 - Public Hearing and Work Session

SB 1516 – Public Hearing

SB 1545 - Public Hearing and Work Session

## Recording Log

3:09:01 PM Meeting Called to Order by Chair Roblan 3:09:22 PM Sen. Prozanski, Senate District 4

3:09:36 PM Sen. Ginny Burdick, Senate District 18

3:09:45 PM Sen. Betsy Close, Senate District 8

**3:09:59 PM** Sen. Arnie Roblan, Senate District 5 **3:10:21 PM** Beth Patrino. Committee Administrator

**3:10:31 PM** Shelley Raszka, Committee Assistant

3:10:43 PM Adoption of Committee Rules-Organizational Meeting

3:10:49 PM {Exhibit} 1: MOTION: SEN. PROZANSKI MOVES ADOPTION OF THE

COMMITTEE RULES

3:10:55 PM Chair Roblan

**3:11:11 PM** Beth Patrino, Committee Administrator

**3:11:26 PM** Chair Roblan

**3:12:09 PM** VOTE: 4-0-1

3:12:11 PM AYES: BURDICK, CLOSE, PROZANSKI, ROBLAN

3:12:11 PM EXCUSED: BAERTSCHIGER

3:12:55 PM	SB 1514-Public Hearing
3:13:07 PM	Beth Patrino, Committee Administrator
3:13:55 PM	Chair Roblan
3:14:03 PM	Sen. Betsy Johnson, Senate District 16
3:15:06 PM	{Exhibit} 2: Mark Labhart, Tillamook County Commissioner; Association of
	Oregon Counties
3:18:33 PM	Brian Carroll, Oregon Parks Association
3:19:44 PM	Lisa VanLannen, Interim Director, Oregon Parks and Recreation
	Department
3:21:33 PM	Chair Roblan
3:22:14 PM	VanLannen
3:22:40 PM	Labhart
3:23:40 PM	{Exhibit} 3: Diane Ferguson, Josephine County Parks
3:25:19 PM	Chair Roblan
3:25:22 PM	Greg Logan, Douglas County Parks Advisory Board
3:27:14 PM	Will Tucker, Linn County Commissioner
3:29:00 PM	Chair Roblan
3:29:21 PM	Elizabeth Howe, Oregon Recreation and Park Association
3:30:41 PM	Patricia Hoover, Chairwoman, Lane County Parks Advisory Committee
3:32:36 PM	Chair Roblan
3:32:37 PM	{Exhibit} 4: witness registration
3:32:38 PM	The following written testimony is submitted for the record without public
	testimony:
3:32:39 PM	{Exhibit} 5-6: Gladys Biglor, resident, Bend
	SB 1514-Work Session
3:32:51 PM	MOTION: SEN. PROZANSKI MOVES SB 1514 DO PASS AND BE
	REFERRED TO WAYS AND MEANS BY PRIOR REFERENCE
	Chair Roblan
	VOTE: 4-0-1
	AYES: BURDICK, CLOSE, PROZANSKI, ROBLAN
3:33:55 PM	EXCUSED: BAERTSCHIGER
2.24.40 DM	SD 1516 Dublic Hearing
	SB 1516-Public Hearing  Poth Patring Committee Administrator
	Beth Patrino, Committee Administrator Chair Roblan
3:35:15 PM	
	Chair Roblan
	{Exhibit} 7: Doug Decker, Oregon State Forester
	Mark Labhart, Tillamook County Commissioner; Association of Oregon
J.J1.40 F IVI	Counties
3:41:12 PM	MG Devereux, Oregon Parks and Recreation Department
	Sen. Betsy Johnson, Senate District 16
	Chair Roblan
3:43:02 PM	
3:43:37 PM	
U.TU.UI I IVI	DOUNG

3:44:19 PM Sen. Burdick **3:44:38 PM** Sen. Johnson 3:45:21 PM Decker **3:46:00 PM** Sen. Burdick 3:46:21 PM Decker 3:46:43 PM Labhart **3:47:11 PM** Sen. Burdick 3:47:13 PM Chair Roblan 3:48:32 PM Labhart 3:48:34 PM Chair Roblan **3:48:35 PM** {Exhibit} 8: witness registration 3:48:36 PM The following written testimony is submitted for the record without public testimony: 3:48:36 PM {Exhibit} 9: Rhett Lawrence, Oregon Chapter Sierra Club 3:49:39 PM SB 1545-Public Hearing 3:50:22 PM Sen. Close 3:50:28 PM Sen. Arnie Roblan, Senate District 5 3:53:40 PM Amanda Rich, The Nature Conservancy 3:54:43 PM Sen. Close **3:55:00 PM** {Exhibit} 10: witness registration 3:55:06 PM SB 1545-Work Session 3:55:12 PM MOTION: SEN. PROZANSKI MOVES 1545 DO PASS 3:55:24 PM Chair Roblan 3:55:27 PM VOTE: 4-0-1 3:55:28 PM AYES: BURDICK, CLOSE, PROZANSKI, ROBLAN 3:55:30 PM EXCUSED: BAERTSCHIGER 3:55:31 PM CARRIER: SEN. ROBLAN WILL LEAD DISCUSSION ON THE FLOOR **3:56:08 PM** Meeting Adjourned by Chair Roblan

## **Exhibit Summary**

3:15:06 PM 3:23:40 PM 3:32:37 PM 3:32:39 PM 3:32:39 PM 3:35:33 PM	{Exhibit} 1: Adoption of Committee Rules, rules, staff, 4 pp {Exhibit} 2: SB 1514, written information, Mark Labhart, 1 p {Exhibit} 3: SB 1514, written testimony, Diane Ferguson, 1 p {Exhibit} 4: SB 1514, written testimony, staff, 1 p {Exhibit} 5: SB 1514, written testimony, Gladys Biglor, 1 p {Exhibit} 6: SB 1514, written testimony, Gladys Biglor, 1 p {Exhibit} 7: SB 1516, written testimony, Doug Decker, 3 pp {Exhibit} 8: SB 1516, witness registration, staff, 1 p
3:48:35 PM 3:48:36 PM	{Exhibit} 7: SB 1516, written testimony, Doug Decker, 3 pp {Exhibit} 8: SB 1516, witness registration, staff, 1 p {Exhibit} 9: SB 1516, written testimony, Rhett Lawrence, 1 p {Exhibit} 10: SB 1545, witness registration, staff, 1 p