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SB 1550-4

(LC 11)

2/3/14 (JLM/ps)

PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO

SENATE BILL 1550

On page 1 of the printed bill, line 2, delete “amending ORS 163.700” and

insert “creating new provisions; amending ORS 163.700 and 421.168; repealing

section 16, chapter 649, Oregon Laws 2013”.

On page 2, after line 22, insert:

“SECTION 2. ORS 421.168, as amended by section 15, chapter 649, Oregon

Laws 2013, is amended to read:

“421.168. (1) The Department of Corrections shall establish a short-term

transitional leave program. The program shall provide inmates with an op-

portunity to secure appropriate transitional support when necessary for

successful reintegration into the community prior to the inmate’s discharge

to post-prison supervision.

“(2) The Department of Corrections shall identify each inmate who is el-

igible for the short-term transitional leave program and shall, in conjunction

with the supervisory authority for the county to which the inmate will be

released, assist each eligible inmate in preparing a transition plan and in

identifying and applying for an employment, educational or other transi-

tional opportunity in the community.

“(3)(a) Except as provided in paragraph (b) of this subsection, if the

inmate’s transition plan is approved by the department and is an essential

part of the inmate’s successful reintegration into the community, the de-

partment may grant a transitional leave no more than [30] 90 days prior to

the inmate’s discharge date.
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“(b) If the inmate’s transition plan is approved by the department

and is an essential part of the inmate’s successful reintegration into

the community, the department may grant a transitional leave no

more than 30 days prior to the inmate’s discharge date if the inmate

is serving a sentence for any of the following crimes:

“(A) Criminally negligent homicide as described in ORS 163.145;

“(B) Rape in the third degree as described in ORS 163.355;

“(C) Sodomy in the third degree as described in ORS 163.385;

“(D) Sexual abuse in the second degree as described in ORS 163.425;

“(E) Assault in the third degree as described in ORS 163.165;

“(F) Robbery in the third degree as described in ORS 164.395; or

“(G) Criminal mistreatment in the first degree as described in ORS

163.205.

“(4) An inmate is not eligible for transitional leave before having served

six months of prison incarceration.

“(5) The department shall adopt rules to carry out the provisions of this

section. The rules must include a set of release conditions for inmates re-

leased on transitional leave status. An inmate on transitional leave status

is subject to immediate return to prison for any violation of the conditions

of release.

“(6) The provisions of this section do not apply to inmates whose sen-

tences were imposed under ORS 137.635, 137.700 or 137.707 or any other pro-

vision of law that prohibits release on any form of temporary leave from

custody.

“SECTION 3. ORS 421.168, as amended by section 15, chapter 649, Oregon

Laws 2013, and section 2 of this 2014 Act, is amended to read:

“421.168. (1) The Department of Corrections shall establish a short-term

transitional leave program. The program shall provide inmates with an op-

portunity to secure appropriate transitional support when necessary for

successful reintegration into the community prior to the inmate’s discharge
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to post-prison supervision.

“(2) The Department of Corrections shall identify each inmate who is el-

igible for the short-term transitional leave program and shall, in conjunction

with the supervisory authority for the county to which the inmate will be

released, assist each eligible inmate in preparing a transition plan and in

identifying and applying for an employment, educational or other transi-

tional opportunity in the community.

“(3)[(a) Except as provided in paragraph (b) of this subsection,] If the

inmate’s transition plan is approved by the department and is an essential

part of the inmate’s successful reintegration into the community, the de-

partment may grant a transitional leave no more than [90] 30 days prior to

the inmate’s discharge date.

“[(b) If the inmate’s transition plan is approved by the department and is

an essential part of the inmate’s successful reintegration into the community,

the department may grant a transitional leave no more than 30 days prior to

the inmate’s discharge date if the inmate is serving a sentence for any of the

following crimes:]

“[(A) Criminally negligent homicide as described in ORS 163.145;]

“[(B) Rape in the third degree as described in ORS 163.355;]

“[(C) Sodomy in the third degree as described in ORS 163.385;]

“[(D) Sexual abuse in the second degree as described in ORS 163.425;]

“[(E) Assault in the third degree as described in ORS 163.165;]

“[(F) Robbery in the third degree as described in ORS 164.395; or]

“[(G) Criminal mistreatment in the first degree as described in ORS

163.205.]

“(4) An inmate is not eligible for transitional leave before having served

six months of prison incarceration.

“(5) The department shall adopt rules to carry out the provisions of this

section. The rules must include a set of release conditions for inmates re-

leased on transitional leave status. An inmate on transitional leave status
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is subject to immediate return to prison for any violation of the conditions

of release.

“(6) The provisions of this section do not apply to inmates whose sen-

tences were imposed under ORS 137.635, 137.700 or 137.707 or any other pro-

vision of law that prohibits release on any form of temporary leave from

custody.

“SECTION 4. Section 16, chapter 649, Oregon Laws 2013, is repealed.

“SECTION 5. The amendments to ORS 421.168 by section 2 of this

2014 Act apply to sentences imposed for crimes committed on or after

the effective date of this 2014 Act.

“SECTION 6. (1) The amendments to ORS 421.168 by section 3 of this

2014 Act become operative on July 1, 2023.

“(2) The amendments to ORS 421.168 by section 3 of this 2014 Act

apply to crimes committed on or after July 1, 2023.”.

In line 23, delete “2” and insert “7”.
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