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SB 15132
(LC 164)
2/10/14 (CDT/ps)

PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO
SENATE BILL 1513

On page 1 of the printed bill, delete lines 20 through 28 and delete pages
2 through 6 and insert:

“SECTION 1. Sections 2 and 3 of this 2014 Act are added to and
made a part of ORS 526.450 to 526.475.

“CATASTROPHIC FIRE REFORESTATION ASSISTANCE ACCOUNT

“SECTION 2. (1) The Catastrophic Fire Reforestation Assistance

Account is established within the General Fund. Moneys in the ac-

count are appropriated to the State Forestry Department for use as
provided in this section.

“(2) The department may expend no more than eight percent of the
moneys deposited to the credit of the account for the purpose of ad-
ministering and enforcing section 3 of this 2014 Act and for costs of
the department associated with the administration and enforcement
of the reforestation tax credit program established under sections 5
and 6 of this 2014 Act.

“@3) Except as provided under subsection (2) of this section, the
department may expend moneys from the account only for the purpose
of providing reforestation cost assistance under section 3 of this 2014
Act.
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“REFORESTATION COST ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

“SECTION 3. (1) As used in this section:

“(a) ‘Catastrophic fire event’ means a fire that:

“(A) Results in the payment of moneys from the Oregon Forest
Land Protection Fund to reimburse emergency fire suppression costs;

“B) Causes damage to at least 50 percent of the timber on a
forestland property; or

“(C) Is declared by the State Forester to be a catastrophic fire
event.

“(b) ‘Fire loss year’ means a period of not more than 12 months,
ending no later than October 31 each year, identified by State Board
of Forestry rule for the collective processing of losses incurred during
district fire seasons designated under ORS 477.505.

“(c) ‘Net reforestation costs’ means reforestation costs minus any
salvage value.

“(d)(A) ‘Reforestation costs’ means the labor, technical and other
costs incurred after a catastrophic fire event to log damaged timber
other than salvage, remove fuel and dead overstory, prepare a site for
replanting and replant forestland in accordance a reforestation project
plan approved by the State Forester.

“(B) ‘Reforestation costs’ does not mean:

“(i) Any expense eligible for federal cost share assistance;

“(ii) Any amounts paid or incurred to purchase or otherwise acquire
forestland; or

“(iii) The cost of purchase or other acquisition of tools and equip-
ment with a useful life of more than one year.

“(e) ‘Salvage value’ means the monetary amount, after deduction
of costs, realizable from the harvesting and selling of trees killed or

damaged due to a catastrophic fire event, taking into consideration
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any legal restrictions.

“(f) ‘Small forestland owner’ means any private individual, group,
Indian tribe or other native group, association, corporation or other
nonpublic legal entity owning 10 to 5,000 contiguous acres of Oregon
commercial forestland.

“(2) If a catastrophic fire event occurs on forestlands, a small
forestland owner whose commercial forestland incurs damage from the
catastrophic fire event may apply to the State Forester for a prelimi-
nary certificate to receive reforestation cost assistance.

“@3) To apply for a preliminary certificate under this section, a
small forestland owner must file a written request for a preliminary
certificate with the State Forester between November 1 and December
31 next following the fire loss year in which the catastrophic fire event
occurred. The request must include, at a minimum, a reforestation
project plan for the commercial forestland, any information required
by board rule and any additional information that the State Forester
considers necessary or useful to determine the applicable commercial
forestland category under subsection (6) of this section. To the extent
practicable, the State Forester shall complete the processing of all
preliminary certificate applications under this section no later than
March 1 following the close of the application period.

“(4) The State Forester shall issue the small forestland owner a
preliminary certificate under this section if the State Forester deter-
mines that:

“(a) The commercial forestland of the small forestland owner has
incurred damage from a catastrophic fire event;

“(b) The small forestland owner has filed or agreed to an acceptable
reforestation project plan for the commercial forestland; and

“(c) The small forestland owner is likely to incur net reforestation

costs under the reforestation project plan.
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“(5) The board shall adopt rules establishing commercial forestland
categories for use by the State Forester in calculating the estimated
net reforestation costs for commercial forestland damaged by a cat-
astrophic fire event. The factors that the board considers in identify-
ing a commercial forestland category may include, but need not be
limited to, slope, age class and tree species.

“(6) The State Forester shall determine the commercial forestland
category applicable to commercial forestland described in a prelimi-
nary certificate application. The State Forester shall use the com-
mercial forestland categories to calculate the maximum amount of
reforestation cost assistance that would be granted under each pre-
liminary certificate for a fire loss year. However, if the total of the
maximum reforestation cost assistance calculated for all preliminary
certificates to be issued for a fire loss year would exceed the lesser of
$1 million or the amount available in the Catastrophic Fire
Reforestation Assistance Account to pay that reforestation cost as-
sistance, the State Forester shall reduce the maximum amount of
reforestation cost assistance for each certificate on a pro rata basis.

“(7) Notwithstanding subsection (6) of this section, if the board de-
termines that an extraordinary level of losses from catastrophic fire
events were incurred in a fire loss year, the board may authorize the
State Forester to seek additional funding of reforestation cost assist-
ance from the Emergency Board. If the Emergency Board grants the
additional funding, the $1 million limitation described in subsection (6)
of this section will not apply for that fire loss year.

“(8) The State Forester shall state the maximum amount of
reforestation cost assistance available on each preliminary certificate
issued under this section. Except as provided in this subsection and
subject to subsection (9) of this section, a small forestland owner may

receive reforestation cost assistance for 50 percent of the reforestation
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costs for the forestland, up to the maximum amount stated in the
certificate. Reforestation cost assistance may not be paid for
reforestation activity performed later than the second calendar year
following the calendar year in which the State Forester issued a pre-
liminary certificate for the reforestation cost assistance.

“9)(a) To receive payment of reforestation cost assistance, the
small forestland owner must annually submit proof acceptable to the
State Forester that:

“(A) The small forestland owner has incurred or is incurring the
net reforestation costs on forestland qualifying for the rebate;

“(B) The land remains commercial forestland; and

“(C) The small forestland owner has materially complied with the
reforestation project plan for the commercial forestland.

“(b) If a small forestland owner has failed to materially comply with
a reforestation project plan, the State Forester may require the small
forestland owner to repay all or part of any reforestation cost assist-
ance previously paid under the preliminary certificate.

“(c) The State Forester may, at any reasonable time, conduct a
physical inspection of commercial forestland to verify information de-
scribed in paragraph (a) of this subsection.

“(11) A small forestland owner may not receive a preliminary cer-
tificate under this section if the State Forester has issued a prelimi-
nary certificate under section 5 of this 2014 Act for a loss from a
catastrophic fire event on the same forestland during the same fire

loss year.

“REFORESTATION TAX CREDIT PROGRAM

“SECTION 4. Sections 5 and 6 of this 2014 Act are added to and
made a part of ORS chapter 315.
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“SECTION 5. (1) As used in this section and section 6 of this 2014
Act:

“(a) ‘Catastrophic fire event, ‘fire loss year,’ ‘net reforestation

costs’ and ‘reforestation costs’ have the meanings given those terms
in section 3 of this 2014 Act.

“(b) ‘Commercial forestland’ and ‘landowner’ have the meanings
given those terms in ORS 526.455.

“(2) To apply for a preliminary certificate allowing a tax credit un-
der section 6 of this 2014 Act, a landowner must file a written request
for a preliminary certificate with the State Forester during the period
beginning November 1 and ending December 31 next following the fire
loss year in which the catastrophic fire event occurred. The request
must include, at a minimum, a reforestation project plan for the
commercial forestland, any information required by State Board of
Forestry rule and any additional information that the State Forester
considers necessary or useful to determine the applicable commercial
forestland category under subsection (5) of this section. To the extent
practicable, the State Forester shall complete the processing of all
written requests for preliminary certificates for a fire loss year no
later than March 1 following the close of the request filing period.

“(3) The State Forester shall issue the landowner a preliminary
certificate under this section if the State Forester determines that:

“(a) The commercial forestland of the landowner has incurred
damage from a catastrophic fire event;

“(b) The landowner has filed or agreed to an acceptable
reforestation project plan for the commercial forestland; and

“(c) The landowner is likely to incur net reforestation costs under
the reforestation project plan.

“(4) The board shall adopt rules establishing commercial forestland

categories for use by the State Forester in calculating the maximum
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net reforestation costs resulting from a catastrophic fire event for
which a tax credit could be allowed under section 6 of this 2014 Act.
The factors that the board considers in identifying a commercial
forestland category may include, but need not be limited to, slope, age
class and tree species.

“(5) The State Forester shall determine the commercial forestland
category applicable to commercial forestland described in a prelimi-
nary certificate application. The State Forester shall use the com-
mercial forestland categories to calculate, for each preliminary
certificate, the maximum net reforestation costs for which a tax credit
could be allowed under section 6 of this 2014 Act. However, if the total
of the net reforestation costs for all preliminary certificates to be is-
sued under this section for a fire loss year would exceed $6 million, the
Sate Forester shall reduce the maximum net reforestation costs for
each certificate on a pro rata basis.

“(6) In accordance with applicable provisions of ORS chapter 183,
the board may adopt rules necessary for the administration of this
section.

“SECTION 6. (1) Except as provided in subsections (5) and (6) of this

section, a credit against the taxes otherwise due under ORS chapter

316 or, if the taxpayer is a corporation, under ORS chapter 317 or 318
shall be allowed to a taxpayer possessing a preliminary certificate is-
sued under section 5 of this 2014 Act.

“(2) For the tax year in which the preliminary certificate is issued,
the amount of the credit is the lesser of:

“(a) Fifty percent of the net reforestation costs actually paid or
incurred by the taxpayer during the tax year due to a catastrophic fire
event; or

“(b) Twelve and one-half percent of the maximum net reforestation

costs allowed under the preliminary certificate.
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“(3) For the two tax years next following the tax year in which the
preliminary certificate is issued, the amount of the credit is the lesser
of:

“(a) Fifty percent of the net reforestation costs incurred since is-
suance of the preliminary certificate, reduced by the amount of any
credits claimed under the certificate in prior years; or

“(b) Twelve and one-half percent of the maximum net reforestation
costs allowed under the preliminary certificate.

“(4) For the third tax year next following the tax year in which the
preliminary certificate is issued, the amount of the credit is the lesser
of:

“(a) Fifty percent of the net reforestation costs incurred since is-
suance of the preliminary certificate, reduced by the amount of any
credits claimed under the certificate in prior years; or

“(b) Fifty percent of the maximum net reforestation costs allowed
under the preliminary certificate, reduced by the amount of any
credits claimed under the certificate in prior years.

“B)(a) To qualify for a tax credit under this section, a landowner
must submit an annual certificate issued by the State Forester. The
annual certificate must accompany the claim for the credit or be
otherwise filed in a manner acceptable to the Department of Revenue.
The State Forester may issue a landowner an annual certificate for the
tax year only if the State Forester is satisfied that:

“(A) The landowner has actually incurred the reforestation costs
to be claimed as a credit;

“(B) The land remains commercial forestland; and

“(C) The landowner has materially complied with the reforestation
project plan for the commercial forestland.

“(b) The State Forester may, at any reasonable time, conduct a

physical inspection of commercial forestland to verify information de-

SB 1513-2 2/10/14
Proposed Amendments to SB 1513 Page 8



10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

scribed in paragraph (a) of this subsection.

“6) A credit may not be claimed under this section for net
reforestation costs that a taxpayer incurs after the third tax year fol-
lowing the year in which a preliminary certificate is issued.

“(7) The credit provided under this section shall be in addition to
and not in lieu of any depreciation or amortization deduction to which
the taxpayer otherwise may be entitled with respect to the
reforestation project, and the credit does not affect the computation
of basis for the forestland. The credit may not be claimed for
reforestation on land for which the landowner has been issued a pre-
liminary certificate under section 3 of this 2014 Act.

“@8) In accordance with applicable provisions of ORS chapter 183,
the Department of Revenue and the State Forestry Department may
adopt rules necessary for the administration of this section.

“(9) Any landowner affected by a determination regarding the net
reforestation costs tax credit made by:

“(a) The State Forester may appeal that determination in the
manner provided for in ORS 526.475 (1).

“(b) The Department of Revenue may appeal that determination in
the manner provided for in ORS 526.475 (2).

“SECTION 7. (1) As used in this section, ‘catastrophic fire event,’

‘fire loss year’ and ‘small forestland owner’ have the meanings given
those terms in section 3 of this 2014 Act.

“(2) For any catastrophic fire event that occurred on forestlands in
whole or in part on or after August 1, 2012, and before December 31,
2013, a small forestland owner whose commercial forestland has in-
curred damage from the catastrophic fire event may apply to the State
Forester for issuance of a preliminary certificate under section 3 of
this 2014 Act. Notwithstanding section 3 (3) of this 2014 Act, the small

forestland owner must file the application between November 1, 2014,
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and December 31, 2014.

“(3) For purposes of section 3 of this 2014 Act, catastrophic fire
losses of small forestland owners participating in the reforestation
costs rebate program under this section are considered to be losses
incurred in a fire loss year separate and distinct from all other fire
loss years.

“(4) Notwithstanding section 2 (3) of this 2014 Act, the State
Forestry Department may expend moneys from the Catastrophic Fire
Reforestation Assistance Account for carrying out this section.

“SECTION 8. (1) As used in this section, ‘catastrophic fire event,’

‘fire loss year’ and ‘landowner’ have the meanings given those terms
in section 5 of this 2014 Act.

“(2) For any catastrophic fire event that occurred on forestlands in
whole or in part on or after August 1, 2012, and before December 31,
2013, a landowner whose commercial forestland has incurred damage
from the catastrophic fire event may apply to the State Forester for
issuance of a preliminary certificate under section 5 of this 2014 Act.
Notwithstanding section 5 (2) of this 2014 Act, the landowner must file
the written request between November 1, 2014, and December 31, 2014.

“@3) For purposes of section 5 of this 2014 Act, catastrophic fire
losses for which landowners file written requests for preliminary cer-
tificates under this section are considered to be losses incurred in a
fire loss year separate and distinct from all other fire loss years.

“(4) Notwithstanding section 2 (3) of this 2014 Act, the State
Forestry Department may expend moneys from the Catastrophic Fire

Reforestation Assistance Account for carrying out this section.

“APPLICABILITY

“SECTION 9. Notwithstanding ORS 315.050, this 2014 Act applies to
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preliminary certificates before January 1, 2020.

“CAPTIONS

“SECTION 10. The unit captions used in this 2014 Act are provided

only for the convenience of the reader and do not become part of the

statutory law of this state or express any legislative intent in the
enactment of this 2014 Act.

“EFFECTIVE DATE

“SECTION 11. This 2014 Act takes effect on the 91st day after the
date on which the 2014 regular session of the Seventy-seventh Legis-

lative Assembly adjourns sine die.”.
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