
February 20, 2014 

 

 

The Honorable Floyd Prozanski 

Chairman, Senate Judiciary Committee 

900 Court Street, NE S-415 

Salem, Oregon 97301 

 

Dear Chairman Prozanski,  

 

Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) strongly urges you to protect families in Oregon and to not 

take steps to weaken Oregon’s DUII law by authoring the amendment to HB 4026 that would make ignition 

interlocks optional for first-time convicted DUII offenders with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 to .14 who 

enter into a diversion agreement. This proposed -9 amendment would significantly weaken Oregon’s DUII law 

and MADD respectively requests you to withdraw and oppose the amendment.  

 

Drunk driving deaths are 100 percent preventable.  Nationally, from 2011 to 2012, drunk driving deaths 

increased by 4.5 percent from 9,878 to 10,322. Largely, due to Oregon’s existing law requiring ignition 

interlocks for all convicted drunk drivers, including the 11,000 or so offenders who enter into diversion 

agreements, drunk driving deaths have dropped from 96 in 2011 to 86 in 2012 representing a significant 

decrease of a 10.5 percent.   

 

Starting in January 1, 2012 in Oregon, ignition interlocks are required for offenders who enter into 

diversion agreements.  Since January 1, 2008, ignition interlocks are required for first-time and second time 

convicted DUII offenders. As a result of Oregon’s ignition interlock law implemented in 2008, drunk driving 

deaths have dropped by 42.7 percent. This reduction is significant considering that nationally during the same 

time period drunk driving deaths only decreased by 20.6 percent.   

 

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), requiring interlocks for all 

convicted drunk drivers saves lives and is effective in reducing drunk driving recidivism by 67 percent. 

Currently 20 states require ignition interlocks for all convicted drunk drivers, including first-time offenders.   

 

“First-time” offenders are rarely first time drunk drivers. Conservative estimates show that a first-time 

convicted DUII offender has driven drunk at least 80 times prior to being arrested. 

 

The policy behind your amendment to HB 2046 is detrimental to public safety and the rehabilitation of 

offenders entering into diversion agreements. Research shows that 50 to 75 percent of convicted drunk 

drivers will continue to drive even with a suspended driver’s license.   

 

License suspension is no longer a practical way to deal with drunk drivers. In today’s world, most 

everyone needs a car to get to work, school, or the grocery store in order to meet life’s basic needs.  And, 

fortunately, current Oregon law utilizes ignition interlocks to allow convicted drunk driver to continue driving 

in a sober fashion immediately following a DUII, but in a way that will protect families and Oregon residents.   

 

Interlocks are proven to protect the public, while giving DUII offenders the opportunity to continue 

driving. Interlocked offenders simply cannot drive drunk and hurt or kill innocent people in Oregon. MADD 



urges your support for ignition interlocks for all convicted drunk drivers and to withdraw and oppose any 

amendments that weaken Oregon’s current DUII law.  Thank you in advance for your consideration of this 

request.  Enclosed is additional information on ignition interlocks. 

 

Sincerely,  

 

 

 

 

Jan Withers     

MADD National President       

 

 Cc: Senate Judiciary Committee Members 

 

 
Source: NHTSA 

On January 1, 2008, ignition interlocks were required for all first and second-time convicted DUII offenders, 

which has contributed to a 42.7 percent drop in drunk driving deaths in Oregon.  

 

On January 1, 2012, ignition interlocks were required for all convicted drunk drivers who enter into diversion 

agreements, which has contributed to a 10.5 percent reduction in drunk driving deaths. 
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To get to the illegal .08 BAC level, a 160-pound male must drink four 

drinks in an hour. (A standard drink is defined as 12 ounces of beer, 5 ounces of wine, or 1.5 ounces 

of 72-proof distilled spirits, all of which contain the same amount of alcohol – about .54 ounces.) 

 

Ignition Interlocks Save Lives 

 
   
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

Ignition interlocks are effective in 

reducing repeat drunk driving 

offenses by 67 percent, according 

to the Centers for Disease Control 

(CDC).  And, all offender interlock 

laws are found to reduce repeat 

offenses significantly, when 

effectively implemented. 
  

First-time offenders are serious 

offenders. Research from the CDC 

indicates that first time offenders 

have driven drunk at least 80 

times before they are arrested.  

Additionally, research has found 

that first offenders’ patterns of 

recidivism are generally similar to 

a repeat offender. 
 

The FACTS 

• An interlock is more effective than license suspension alone, as 50 to 75 percent of convicted drunk drivers 

continue to drive on a suspended license. 

• All-offender interlock laws are widespread. Twenty states, plus a California pilot program (covering a population 

of over 13 million) have laws requiring ignition interlocks for all first-time convicted drunk drivers.   

• As of July 2013, there are approximately 305,000 interlocks in use in the United States, including 7,100 in 

Oregon. 

 

Ignition interlock laws saves lives. Due in part to laws requiring interlocks for all convicted drunk drivers, states have 

seen significant reductions in drunk driving deaths:  

� Arizona: 43 percent 

� Oregon: 42 percent 

� New Mexico: 38 percent 

� Louisiana: 35 percent  

� West Virginia: 33 percent 

� Utah: 30 percent 

� Alaska: 28 percent 

� Colorado: 24 percent 

� Kansas: 26 percent 

� Washington: 20 percent 

 

Public supports Interlocks for all convicted drunk drivers. Three surveys indicate strong public support of 

ignition interlocks for all convicted drunk drivers.    
� 88 percent (Center for Excellence in Rural Safety, 2010) 

� 84 percent (Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, 2009) 

� 76 percent (American Automobile Association, 2012) 
 

In addition to MADD, other traffic safety groups support ignition interlocks for all convicted drunk drivers, 

including all first offenders with an illegal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or greater.   
o Advocates for Auto and Highway Safety 

o American Automobile Association (AAA) 

o Auto Alliance 

o Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 

(CDC)  

 

 

o Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) 

o International Association of Chiefs of Police 

(IACP) 

o National Safety Council  

o National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) 



Ignition Interlock FAQs 
Please visit madd.org/interlock 

Anti-circumvention 

Technology. Interlocks 

require a deep lung sample 

and an offender is taught to 

use the device and must 

typically blow, suck or hum 

to prevent circumvention 

attempts such as having a 

child or balloon deflate to 

get around the interlock. 

Here are other anti-

circumvention features. 
 

Camera to verify user 

 
A camera eliminates the 

excuse that the interlock 

violation was by another 

person. It also ensures the 

offender is the one using the 

device. The camera is safely 

mounted near the dashboard. 
 

Real time reporting of 

interlock violations 
 

 
 

Some interlocks have GPS  

and/or cellular ability to 

report recordable violations 

to a monitoring agency 

immediately, as opposed to 

waiting days for a violation 

to be reported.   

 

 

 
An ignition interlock is a device about the size of a cell phone that is wired into the ignition system 

of a vehicle. A convicted drunk driver must blow into the device in order to start their vehicle. 

Interlocks are required to meet federal standards set by the National Highway Traffic Safety 

Administration (NHTSA).  
 

Per NHTSA standards, if an interlock user has a measurable amount of alcohol in their system, the 

vehicle will not start. It is a simple and economical way to make sure that offenders can drive to 

and from work, but that they can't drive drunk. 
 

Who pays for the device? Offenders pay for the interlocks, which costs $2.50 a day to lease 

from an interlock vendor. In most states, interlock companies provide interlock devices for 

offenders who can't afford the devices or an indigent fund is set up by the state, which is 

funded by other interlock users to cover all or a portion of the costs for these offenders. 
 

Are there ways to bypass the device, like having someone else blow into it? This is possible, 

and there should be strict penalties for attempting to bypass the device. Interlocks are 

required to have anti-circumvention features that prevent such activity. One of these features 

is the running retest, which requires offenders to blow into the device at random intervals 

once the vehicle has been allowed to start. The tests are not designed to be done while the 

car is actually rolling. Interlocks give people a few minutes – enough time to pull over –to 

retest. 
 

What if someone else drives the vehicle with the interlock and fails a retest? 

This is possible, but with states requiring the use camera interlocks to verify the user, this is 

becoming a non-issue.  However, when someone commits a crime, he/she is responsible for 

the consequences of his/her actions. If an interlock is one of these consequences, then the 

offender is responsible for making sure those driving his/her vehicle do not drive intoxicated.  
 

Could an interlock stop a person’s car in traffic, making a more dangerous hazard? 

Interlocks are hooked up to a vehicle’s starter system, not to the engine itself. The interlock 

does not have the ability to stop the vehicle once it is running for safety reasons. When a 

driver fails a running retest, the vehicle’s horn will honk and/or the lights will flash to alert law 

enforcement – the vehicle will not stop. 
 

Are interlocks an inconvenience to family members who share the offender’s vehicle?  No, 

they can drive the vehicle as well and also taught how to use the device; they simply must 

blow into the device and prove sobriety before the car will start.  
 

Don’t offenders go back to their old behavior after the device is removed? Studies have 

shown that interlock devices decrease recidivism by 67 percent while installed on the vehicle. 

When removed, these rates could go back to normal.  As a result, more states are enacting 

laws including compliance based removal of the interlock where an offender must have a 

certain period prior to removing the device with no recordable violations such as consecutive 

running retest failures or multiple positive tests for alcohol.   
 

Who monitors interlock device users? How are monitoring programs funded? 

Interlock reports are sometimes monitored by the courts or probation departments. Some 

states require offenders or interlock companies to pay probation costs. Other states have no 

probation monitoring and instead implement the program through a driver license agency 

(DMV). These offenders must provide proof of installation from an interlock vendor in order 

to obtain an interlock license or proof of compliance with the interlock in order to obtain 

unrestricted driving privileges. States are able to have revenue neutral programs by charging 

interlock users licensing fees and in some instances a monthly fee of $30.   



Status of State Ignition Interlock Laws 
 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

* California’s pilot program covers the counties of Los Angeles, Alameda, Sacramento, and Tulare.  These counties combined have a population of over 13 million.  

** In Iowa, interlocks are required starting on the first conviction for offenders with a BAC of .10 or greater. 

Interlock requirement starts on the 

first conviction Mandatory 

with a second 

conviction 

 
 Not 

mandatory  

Mandatory with a BAC 

of .08 or greater 

 Mandatory with a 

BAC of .15 or greater                          

  
  

Judicial 

discretion 

Alaska       
(1/09) 

Missouri    
(3/14) 

 Alabama      
(9/12) 

New 

Hampshire    
.16 BAC               

(7/07) 

  Georgia      
(5/99) 

  California                       
for any offender 

Arizona                  
(9/07) 

Nebraska 
(1/09) 

 Delaware        
(7/09) 

New 

Jersey   
(1/10) 

  Idaho        
(10/00) 

  Indiana              
for any offender 

Arkansas          
(4/09) 

New 

Mexico 
(6/05) 

 Florida       
(10/08) 

North 

Carolina 
(12/07) 

  Massachusetts  
(1/06) 

  Kentucky         
for any offender 

California     

Pilot 

Program*   

(7/10) 

New York  
(8/10) 

 Iowa**            
.10 BAC        

(7/95)                   

Oklahoma    
(11/11) 

  Mississippi               

(7/14) 

  North Dakota       
for any offender 

Colorado           
(1/09) 

Oregon   
(1/08) 

 Maryland    
(10/11) 

Texas            
(9/05) 

  Montana    
(5/09) 

  Rhode Island      
for repeat offenders 

Connecticut    
(1/12) 

Tennessee 
(7/13) 

 Michigan          
.17 BAC            

(10/10) 

Wisconsin 
(7/10)  

  Ohio          
(9/08) 

  

Other 

Hawaii        
(1/11) 

Utah       
(7/09) 

 Minnesota  
.16 BAC            

(7/11) 

Wyoming 
(7/09) 

  Pennsylvania  
(10/03) 

  DC                              
any offender can 

choose to go an 

interlock  

Illinois                
(1/09) 

Virginia       
(7/12) 

 Nevada                                    
. 18 BAC            
(7/05) 

South 

Carolina 
(1/09) 

  South Dakota     
part of the 24/7 

program 

Kansas             
(7/11) 

Washington                                          
(1/09) 

  Vermont                       
any offender can 

choose to go an 

interlock  

Louisiana 
(7/07) 

West 

Virginia     
(7/08) 

(month/year listed note effective date) 

Maine     
(12/13)            
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