

February 13, 2014

Senate Health Care and Human Services Committee Oregon State Senate 900 Court St. NE Salem, Oregon 97301

RE: SB 1539 – Imposes requirements on step therapy drug protocols required by specified persons that pay for or reimburse claims for prescription drugs.

Dear Members of the Senate Health Care and Human Services Committee:

The Alliance for Patient Access (AfPA) would like to express support for SB 1539, Imposing Restrictions on Fail-First Protocols. AfPA is a national organization of physicians whose mission is to protect patient access to approved medical treatments throughout the U.S., as well as to ensure the highest quality of care for patients. AfPA contends that health policy must be fashioned in a manner that recognizes the primacy of the physician-patient relationship and preserves patient access to care by respecting physician clinical decision-making.

On behalf of our Oregon members and their patients, AfPA supports the intent behind SB 1539 and believes that it takes necessary steps towards protecting the physician-patient relationship. In particular, AfPA is pleased that SB 1539 limits the number of therapies a patient must fail to no more than two, allows the health care provider to establish the duration of each step therapy protocol, and does not allow a payer to require prior authorization if the physician notes in the patient chart that the fair-first protocol has been followed. These measures help prevent interference with physician clinical decision making while, improving health outcomes for patients

Polices that allow payers to override the prescribed course of treatment potentially endanger patient health, and can lead to increased costs to the health care system.

SB 1539 protects the physician-patient relationship by putting limitations on the ability of payers to utilize step-therapy protocols. As such, The Alliance for Patient Access urges you to support this important legislation.

Sincerely,

Brian Kennedy Executive Director

Cc: Sen. Laurie Monnes Anderson, Chair

Sen. Jeff Kruse, Vice Chair Sen. Elizabeth Steiner Hayward

Sen. Chip Shields Sen. Tim Knopp

Sandy Thiele-Cirka, Committee Administrator