77th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY – 2014 Regular Session MEASURE: HB 4021

PRELIMINARY STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

House Committee on Veterans' Services and Emergency Preparedness

REVENUE: No revenue impact

FISCAL: May have fiscal impact, statement not yet issued SUBSEQUENT REFERRAL TO: Ways and Means

Action: Vote:

Yeas: Nays:

Exc.: Cheyenne Ross, Administrator

Meeting Dates: 2/4, 2/11

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES: Requires public universities and community colleges charge in-state tuition of graduate veterans with either honorable discharge or general discharge under honorable conditions if physical presence in Oregon shown within 12 months of enrollment.

CARRIER:

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

- Cumulative effect waivers
- "Tuition Fairness Act" (HR 357) pending in U.S. Senate

EFFECT OF COMMITTEE AMENDMENT:

[-1 amendment] Clarifies applicability to newly-enrolled veteran graduate students as of fall 2014.

BACKGROUND: In 2013, the legislature passed House Bill 2158, relaxing residency requirements for out-of-state veterans newly-enrolling in undergraduate programs at public institutions, so long as the veteran received an honorable discharge, or a general discharge under honorable conditions, and was physically present in Oregon within 12 months of enrollment. House Bill 4021 extends in-state tuition to include nonresident veteran graduate students as well.