HOUSE COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

February 22, 2013 Hearing Room E

3:00 PM

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Tobias Read, Chair

Rep. Chris Gorsek, Vice-Chair Rep. Cliff Bentz, Vice-Chair

Rep. Kevin Cameron Rep. John Davis

Rep. Margaret Doherty

Rep. John Lively

Rep. Caddy McKeown Rep. Nancy Nathanson

Rep. Julie Parrish

STAFF PRESENT: Troy Rayburn, Committee Administrator

Karen Winkel, Committee Assistant

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: HB 2310 - Public Hearing

Recording Log

3:05:09 PM Meeting Called to Order by Chair Read

3:05:19 PM HB 2310 - Public Hearing

3:05:34 PM Troy Rayburn, Committee Administrator

3:06:02 PM Chair Read

3:07:53 PM {Exhibit} 1: David Koch, Chief Executive Officer, Oregon International Port

of Coos Bay

3:12:17 PM Chair Read

3:12:23 PM {Exhibit} 2: Rob Didelius, Lake Railway

3:14:58 PM Susie Lahsene, Transportation Land Use Policy Manager, Port of

Portland; Chair, Oregon Freight Advisory Committee

3:16:46 PM Rep. McKeown

3:16:53 PM Lahsene

3:17:08 PM Chair Read

3:17:46 PM {Exhibit} 3: Jerri Bohard, Administrator, Transportation Development

Division, Department of Transportation

3:22:18 PM Chair Read

3:22:45 PM Bohard

3:24:07 PM Chair Read

- 3:24:15 PM Bohard
- 3:24:18 PM Chair Read
- 3:24:21 PM Bohard
- 3:25:13 PM Rep. Lively
- **3:25:53 PM** Bohard
- **3:26:55 PM** Rep. Lively
- 3:27:01 PM Bohard
- 3:27:13 PM Chair Read
- **3:27:32 PM** Bohard
- 3:27:40 PM Vice-Chair Bentz
- 3:29:17 PM Bohard
- 3:30:00 PM Chair Read
- 3:30:02 PM Bohard
- 3:31:23 PM Vice-Chair Bentz
- **3:31:55 PM** Bohard
- 3:33:20 PM Vice-Chair Bentz
- 3:34:49 PM Bohard
- 3:36:35 PM Vice-Chair Bentz
- 3:37:13 PM Rep. Nathanson
- 3:38:17 PM Bohard
- 3:39:24 PM Rep. Nathanson
- 3:39:57 PM Bohard
- 3:40:38 PM Rep. Nathanson
- 3:41:07 PM Bohard
- 3:42:55 PM Chair Read
- 3:43:02 PM Bohard
- 3:43:13 PM Chair Read
- 3:43:15 PM Bohard
- 3:43:20 PM Chair Read
- 3:43:25 PM Rep. Davis
- 3:44:13 PM Bohard
- **3:45:47 PM** Rep. Davis
- 3:46:10 PM Bohard
- **3:46:41 PM** Rep. Davis
- 3:46:54 PM Bohard
- 3:47:14 PM Chair Read
- 3:48:02 PM {Exhibit} 4: Jana Jarvis, Oregon Wheat Growers League
- 3:49:19 PM {Exhibit} 5: Ann Hanus, Association of Oregon Counties
- 3:50:43 PM {Exhibit} 6: Ralph Saperstein, Coos Siskiyou Shippers Coalition
- 3:53:11 PM Rep. Nathanson
- 3:54:09 PM Chair Read
- 3:54:13 PM Rep. Cameron
- 3:54:28 PM Saperstein
- 3:54:29 PM Rep. Cameron
- 3:54:30 PM Saperstein
- **3:55:10 PM** Rep. Cameron

3:55:28 PM Saperstein 3:55:34 PM Chair Read 3:55:35 PM Saperstein 3:55:38 PM Chair Read 3:55:40 PM Rep. McKeown 3:58:41 PM Chair Read **3:58:54 PM** Rep. McKeown 3:58:56 PM Chair Read 3:59:23 PM Craig Honeyman, Legislative Director, League of Oregon Cities 4:01:13 PM Chair Read 4:01:24 PM John Charles, President, Cascade Policy Institute 4:05:21 PM John Ledger, Associated Oregon Industries 4:06:23 PM Chair Read 4:06:53 PM {Exhibit} 7: Jody Wiser, Tax Fairness Oregon **4:12:17 PM** Chair Read 4:12:25 PM Wiser 4:13:26 PM {Exhibit} 8-10: Jonathan Manton, Bicycle Transportation Alliance 4:17:30 PM Chair Read 4:17:39 PM Manton 4:18:25 PM Mark Landauer, Oregon Public Ports Association 4:19:34 PM Chair Read 4:19:37 PM Landauer **4:21:10 PM** Rep. McKeown 4:21:23 PM Landauer **4:21:51 PM** Chris Rall, Pacific Northwest Field Organizer, Transportation For America 4:26:02 PM Stephanie Routh, Executive Director, Oregon Walks 4:29:24 PM Chair Read 4:29:31 PM {Exhibit} 11: Chris Hagerbaumer, Deputy Director, Oregon Environmental Council 4:32:07 PM Chair Read 4:32:09 PM Rep. McKeown 4:32:19 PM Routh **4:32:31 PM** Rep. McKeown 4:32:35 PM Chair Read 4:33:09 PM Dan Eisenbeis, City of Portland 4:33:33 PM Chair Read 4:33:39 PM John Mohlis, Oregon State Building Trades Council 4:34:14 PM Donald Leap, Past President, Association of Oregon Rail and Transit Advocates 4:35:54 PM Chair Read 4:36:11 PM Michael Morrison, Association of Oregon Rail and Transit Advocates 4:37:58 PM Chair Read 4:38:00 PM Rep. Cameron 4:38:49 PM Morrison 4:39:16 PM Chair Read

4:39:59 PM {Exhibit} 21: Witness Registration

- 4:40:00 PM The following written testimony is submitted for the record without public testimony:4:40:01 PM {Exhibit} 13: Paul Langner, President, Oregon Rail Users League
- **4:40:02 PM** {Exhibit} 14: Randy Tucker, Legislative Affairs Manager, Oregon Metro Council
- **4:40:03 PM** {Exhibit} 15: Marshall Coba, American Council of Engineering Companies of Oregon
- 4:40:04 PM {Exhibit} 16: Mary Kyle McCurdy, Policy Director, 1000 Friends of Oregon
- 4:40:05 PM {Exhibit} 17: Aaron C. Deas, Office of Government Affairs, TriMet
- 4:40:06 PM {Exhibit} 18: Joe Westby, Northwest Regional Vice President, Ferrellgas
- 4:40:07 PM {Exhibit} 19: Butch Roberts, General Manager, Tarr LLC
- **4:40:08 PM** {Exhibit} 20: Allan Pollock, President, Oregon Transit Association
- **4:40:09 PM** {Exhibit} 21: Ron Kaufman, General Manager, Mount Hood Railroad Co.
- **4:40:10 PM** {Exhibit} 22: Lana Butterfield, Executive Director, Oregon Rail User's League
- **4:40:11 PM** {Exhibit} 23: Ron Kilcoyne, General Manager, Lane Transit District
- **4:40:13 PM** Meeting Adjourned by Chair Read

Exhibit Summary

3:07:53 PM {Exhibit} 1: HB 2310, written testimony, David Koch, 2 pp 3:12:23 PM {Exhibit} 2: HB 2310, written testimony, Rob Didelius, 1 p 3:17:46 PM {Exhibit} 3: HB 2310, written testimony, Jerri Bohard, 2 pp **3:48:02 PM** {Exhibit} 4: HB 2310, written testimony, Jana Jarvis, 1 p 3:49:19 PM {Exhibit} 5: HB 2310, written testimony, Ann Hanus, 2 pp 3:50:43 PM {Exhibit} 6: HB 2310, written testimony, Ralph Saperstein, 1 p 4:06:53 PM {Exhibit} 7: HB 2310, written testimony, Jody Wiser, 3 pp **4:13:26 PM** {Exhibit} 8: HB 2310, written testimony, Jonathan Manton, 2 pp **4:13:26 PM** {Exhibit} 9: HB 2310, study, Jonathan Manton, 16 pp **4:13:26 PM** {Exhibit} 10: HB 2310, report, Jonathan Manton, 28 pp 4:29:31 PM {Exhibit} 11: HB 2310, written testimony, Chris Hagerbaumer, 3 pp 4:39:59 PM {Exhibit} 12: HB 2310, witness registration, staff, 2 pp 4:40:01 PM {Exhibit} 13: HB 2310, written testimony, Paul Langner, 1 p 4:40:02 PM {Exhibit} 14: HB 2310, written testimony, Randy Tucker, 1 p 4:40:03 PM {Exhibit} 15: HB 2310, written testimony, Marshall Coba, 1 p **4:40:04 PM** {Exhibit} 16: HB 2310, written testimony, Mary Kyle McCurdy, 2 pp 4:40:05 PM {Exhibit} 17: HB 2310, written testimony, Aaron C. Deas, 1 p 4:40:06 PM {Exhibit} 18: HB 2310, written testimony, Joe Westby, 1 p 4:40:07 PM {Exhibit} 19: HB 2310, written testimony, Butch Roberts, 2 pp 4:40:08 PM {Exhibit} 20: HB 2310, written testimony, Allan Pollock, 2 pp 4:40:09 PM {Exhibit} 21: HB 2310, written testimony, Ron Kaufman, 1 p 4:40:10 PM {Exhibit} 22: HB 2310, written testimony, Lana Butterfield, 1 p 4:40:11 PM {Exhibit} 23: HB 2310, written testimony, Ron Kilcoyne, 1 p