HOUSE COMMITTEE ON ENERGY AND ENVIRONMENT

April 02, 2013 Hearing Room D 3:00 P.M.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Jules Bailey, Chair

Rep. Deborah Boone, Vice-Chair Rep. Mark Johnson, Vice-Chair

Rep. Cliff Bentz

Rep. Michael Dembrow Rep. Jeff Reardon

Rep. Jessica Vega Pederson

Rep. Jim Weidner Rep. Gail Whitsett

STAFF PRESENT: Adam Crawford, Committee Administrator

Anne May, Committee Assistant

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: HB 2266 - Work Session

SB 249A - Public Hearing and Work Session

HB 2818 - Public Hearing HB 2941 - Public Hearing

Recording Log

3:01:25 PM Meeting Called to Order by Chair Bailey

3:01:48 PM HB 2266 - Work Session

3:01:51 PM Adam Crawford, Committee Administrator

3:02:09 PM Chair Bailey

3:02:26 PM MOTION: VICE-CHAIR BOONE MOVES HB 2266 DO PASS

3:02:27 PM VOTE: 9-0-0 (See timestamp **3:45:33 PM**)

3:02:28 PM AYES: BENTZ, REARDON, WEIDNER, WHITSETT, VEGA-PEDERSON,

JOHNSON, BOONE, BAILEY

3:02:29 PM EXCUSED: DEMBROW

3:02:30 PM Chair Bailey

3:03:20 PM CARRIER: REP. WEIDNER WILL LEAD DISCUSSION ON THE FLOOR

3:03:34 PM SB 249A - Public Hearing

3:03:37 PM Chair Bailey

3:04:20 PM {Exhibit} 1: Randy Tucker, Metro

3:06:40 PM Chair Bailey

3:06:48 PM {Exhibit} 2: Palmer Mason, Government Relations, Department of

Environmental Quality

3:08:54 PM Tucker 3:09:35 PM Chair Bailey 3:09:41 PM Rep. Bentz 3:09:54 PM Chair Bailey 3:10:09 PM Kevin Dowing, Diesel Recognition Program, Department of Environmental Quality 3:10:30 PM Chair Bailey **3:10:31 PM** Rep. Bentz 3:10:34 PM Downing 3:11:03 PM Chair Bailey **3:11:04 PM** Rep. Bentz **3:11:09 PM** Downing **3:11:51 PM** Chair Bailey **3:11:52 PM** {Exhibit} 3: witness registration 3:12:05 PM SB 249A - Work Session 3:12:06 PM MOTION: VICE-CHAIR JOHNSON MOVES SB 249A DO PASS **3:12:07 PM** VOTE: 9-0-0 3:12:08 PM AYES: BENTZ, DEMBROW, REARDON, WEIDNER, WHITSETT, VEGA-PEDERSON, JOHNSON, BOONE, BAILEY **3:12:16 PM** Chair Bailev 3:12:50 PM CARRIER: REP. WEIDNER WILL LEAD DISCUSSION ON THE FLOOR 3:13:10 PM HB 2818 - Public Hearing 3:13:15 PM Chair Bailey 3:13:36 PM HB 2941 - Public Hearing 3:13:48 PM Adam Crawford, Committee Administrator **3:14:35 PM** Chair Bailey 3:15:09 PM Colonel Christian Rees, Director of Installations, Oregon Military Department 3:18:57 PM Chair Bailey 3:19:08 PM {Exhibit} 4: LTC Kenneth Safe, P.E., Facilities Management Officer, **Oregon Military Department** 3:21:10 PM Chair Bailey 3:21:19 PM Rep. Weidner 3:21:43 PM Rees 3:21:45 PM Rep. Weidner 3:21:48 PM Rees 3:22:00 PM Safe **3:22:12 PM** Chair Bailey **3:22:13 PM** Rep. Bentz 3:23:05 PM Chair Bailey 3:23:43 PM Rees **3:24:07 PM** Scott Bolton, Vice President, Government Affairs, Pacificorp 3:29:59 PM Chair Bailey

- **3:30:03 PM** Marion Haynes, Portland General Electric 3:32:44 PM Chair Bailey 3:32:45 PM Rep. Whitsett **3:33:07 PM** Bolton **3:34:10 PM** Chair Bailey 3:34:11 PM Rep. Whitsett **3:34:47 PM** Bolton 3:35:30 PM Chair Bailey **3:35:31 PM** Rep. Whitsett 3:35:37 PM Chair Bailey 3:35:43 PM Bolton 3:35:54 PM Chair Bailey 3:35:55 PM Rep. Vega Pederson 3:36:21 PM Bolton 3:36:23 PM Chair Bailey 3:36:24 PM Rep. Bentz **3:37:07 PM** Bolton 3:37:13 PM Chair Bailey 3:37:14 PM Rep. Bentz **3:37:17 PM** Bolton 3:37:19 PM Rep. Bentz 3:37:53 PM Bolton 3:39:09 PM Chair Bailey 3:39:09 PM Rep. Bentz **3:39:51 PM** Bolton 3:40:33 PM Chair Bailey **3:40:33 PM** Rep. Bentz **3:40:38 PM** Bolton 3:41:20 PM Chair Bailey **3:41:24 PM** Rep. Reardon **3:41:58 PM** Bolton 3:42:27 PM Chair Bailey **3:42:50 PM** Bolton **3:44:01 PM** Haynes 3:44:58 PM Chair Bailey 3:45:18 PM Rep. Weidner
- Initiative
 3:45:24 PM {Exhibit} 8: Dan Morse, Conservation Director, Oregon Natural Desert
 Association

3:45:21 PM The following written testimony is submitted without public testimony: **3:45:22 PM** {Exhibit} 6: Ken Kestner, Chairman, Lake County Board of Commissioners **3:45:23 PM** {Exhibit} 7: James K. Walls, Executive Director, Lake County Resources

3:45:20 PM Chair Bailey

3:45:20 PM {Exhibit} 5: witness registration

- 3:45:32 PM HB 2266 Work Session
- 3:45:33 PM MOTION: VICE-CHAIR JOHNSON MOVES THAT THE RULES BE SUSPENDED TO ALLOW REP. DEMBROW TO VOTE: AYE ON HB 2266
- 3:45:34 PM VOTE: 9-0-0
- **3:45:35 PM** AYES: BENTZ, DEMBROW, REARDON, WEIDNER, WHITSETT, VEGA-PEDERSON, JOHNSON, BOONE, BAILEY
- **3:45:41 PM** Meeting Adjourned by Chair Bailey

Exhibit Summary

3:04:20 PM	{Exhibit} 1: SB 249A, written testimony, Randy Tucker, 2 pp
3:06:48 PM	{Exhibit} 2: SB 249A, written information, Palmer Mason, 2 pp
3:11:52 PM	{Exhibit} 3: SB 249A, witness registration, staff, 1 p
3:19:08 PM	{Exhibit} 4: HB 2941, written testimony of Clare R. Mendelsohn, LTC
	Kenneth Safe, 2 pp
3:45:20 PM	{Exhibit} 5: HB 2941, witness registration, staff, 1 p
3:45:22 PM	{Exhibit} 6: HB 2941, written testimony Ken Kestner, 1 p
3:45:23 PM	{Exhibit} 7: HB 2941, written testimony, James K. Walls, 1 p
3:45:24 PM	{Exhibit} 8: HB 2941, written testimony, Dan Morse, 1 p