HOUSE COMMITTEE ON ENERGY AND ENVIRONMENT

March 28, 2013 Hearing Room D 3:00 P.M.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Jules Bailey, Chair

Rep. Deborah Boone, Vice-Chair Rep. Mark Johnson, Vice-Chair

Rep. Cliff Bentz

Rep. Michael Dembrow Rep. Jeff Reardon

Rep. Jessica Vega Pederson

Rep. Gail Whitsett

MEMBER EXCUSED: Rep. Jim Weidner

STAFF PRESENT: Adam Crawford, Committee Administrator

Anne May, Committee Assistant

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: HB 2894 - Work Session

HB 3451 - Public Hearing HB 2981 - Public Hearing

Recording Log

3:02:32 PM Meeting Called to Order by Chair Bailey

3:02:52 PM HB 2894 - Work Session

3:02:55 PM {Exhibit} 1: Adam Crawford, Committee Administrator

3:04:05 PM Chair Bailey

3:04:08 PM MOTION: VICE-CHAIR JOHNSON MOVES TO ADOPT THE

-3 AMENDMENTS

3:04:16 PM VOTE: 8-0-1

3:04:17 PM AYES: BENTZ, DEMBROW, REARDON, VEGA-PEDERSON,

WHITSETT, JOHNSON, BOONE, BAILEY

3:04:18 PM EXCUSED: WEIDNER

3:04:19 PM Chair Bailey

3:04:27 PM MOTION: VICE-CHAIR JOHNSON MOVES HB 2894 DO PASS AS

AMENDED AND BE REFERRED TO THE JOINT HOUSE REVENUE

COMMITTEE BY PRIOR REFERENCE

3:04:28 PM VOTE: 8-0-1

3:04:29 PM AYES: BENTZ, DEMBROW, REARDON, VEGA-PEDERSON,

WHITSETT, JOHNSON, BOONE, BAILEY

3:04:30 PM EXCUSED: WEIDNER

3:04:38 PM Chair Bailey

3:04:57 PM HB 3451 - Public Hearing 3:05:00 PM Chair Bailey 3:05:50 PM Rep. David Gomberg, House District 10 3:09:43 PM {Exhibit} 2: Sen. Jeff Kruse, Senate District 1; Chair, Coastal Caucasus 3:12:04 PM Vice-Chair Johnson 3:12:21 PM Sen. Kruse **3:12:31 PM** Vice-Chair Johnson 3:12:50 PM Rep. Dembrow 3:12:54 PM {Exhibit} 3: Dr. Mark R. Abbott, Dean, College of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences, Oregon State University 3:15:32 PM Vice-Chair Johnson 3:15:33 PM Vice-Chair Boone 3:17:02 PM Sen. Kruse 3:17:32 PM Vice-Chair Johnson **3:17:33 PM** Rep. Dembrow **3:17:57 PM** Abbott **3:18:55 PM** Rep. Dembrow 3:18:57 PM Chair Bailey 3:18:59 PM Vice-Chair Boone 3:19:38 PM Chair Bailey 3:19:45 PM Sen. Kruse 3:19:47 PM Chair Bailey 3:20:12 PM {Exhibit} 4: Bill Hall, Chair, Lincoln County Board of Commissioners 3:22:38 PM {Exhibit} 5: JoAnn Barton, President, Port of Newport Board of Commissioners 3:23:40 PM Chair Bailey 3:23:45 PM {Exhibit} 6: John Lavrakas, President, Yaquina Bay Economic Foundation 3:27:24 PM Chair Bailey 3:27:28 PM Vice-Chair Boone 3:27:36 PM Hall 3:27:41 PM Chair Bailev 3:28:08 PM Vice-Chair Boone 3:28:10 PM Chair Bailey 3:28:37 PM {Exhibit} 7: Tim Josi, Tillamook County Commissioner 3:30:33 PM Chair Bailey 3:30:38 PM Vice-Chair Boone **3:31:05 PM** Chair Bailey 3:31:08 PM Josi **3:31:09 PM** Chair Bailey **3:31:10 PM** {Exhibit} 8: witness registration **3:31:11 PM** The following testimony is submitted for the record without public testimony: 3:31:12 PM {Exhibit} 9: Sandra Roumagoux, Mayor, City of Newport 3:31:13 PM {Exhibit} 10: Jim Voetberg, City Manager, City of Newport

3:31:30 PM HB 2981 - Public Hearing 3:31:36 PM {Exhibit} 11: Adam Crawford, Committee Administrator 3:32:20 PM Chair Bailey 3:32:55 PM Crawford 3:33:20 PM {Exhibit} 12: Doris Penwell, Association of Oregon Counties 3:36:59 PM Varner Seaman, Policy Director, Renewable Northwest Project 3:39:47 PM Chair Bailey 3:39:59 PM Troy Gagliano, Project Manager/Developer, Renewable Energy at EDF Renewable Energy **3:43:45 PM** Chair Bailey 3:43:49 PM Rep. Bentz 3:44:10 PM Penwell 3:44:49 PM Chair Bailey **3:44:50 PM** Rep. Bentz 3:44:57 PM Penwell 3:45:36 PM Seaman **3:45:56 PM** Rep. Bentz **3:46:44 PM** Penwell 3:48:12 PM Chair Bailey **3:48:42 PM** Rep. Bentz 3:49:23 PM Penwell 3:50:12 PM Rep. Bentz 3:50:15 PM Penwell 3:50:27 PM Seaman 3:51:00 PM Rep. Bentz 3:51:04 PM Chair Bailey **3:51:06 PM** Rep. Bentz 3:52:08 PM Seaman 3:52:39 PM Penwell **3:52:46 PM** Rep. Bentz 3:53:06 PM Chair Bailey **3:53:07 PM** Rep. Whitsett 3:53:26 PM Penwell **3:54:21 PM** Rep. Whitsett 3:55:13 PM Gagliano 3:55:36 PM Chair Bailey 3:55:38 PM Rep. Whitsett 3:56:32 PM Seaman 3:57:48 PM Penwell **3:57:55 PM** Chair Bailey **3:57:56 PM** Rep. Whitsett 3:58:33 PM Chair Bailey 3:58:35 PM Vice-Chair Johnson 3:59:13 PM Penwell 3:59:50 PM Chair Bailey

4:00:02 PM Gagliano
4:01:07 PM Chair Bailey
4:01:08 PM Rep. Whitsett
4:02:03 PM Gagliano
4:02:12 PM Chair Bailey
4:02:13 PM Rep. Whitsett
4:02:30 PM Seaman
4:03:52 PM Rep. Whitsett
4:04:24 PM Chair Bailey
4:04:56 PM Penwell
4:05:11 PM Chair Bailey
4:05:29 PM Glenn Montgomery, Executive Director, Oregon Solar Energy Industries Association
4:06:36 PM {Exhibit} 13: witness registration
4:09:05 PM Meeting Adjourned by Chair Bailey

Exhibit Summary

```
3:02:55 PM {Exhibit} 1: HB 2894, -3 amendment, staff, 4 pp
3:09:43 PM {Exhibit} 2: HB 3451, written testimony, Sen. Jeff Kruse, 3 pp
3:12:54 PM {Exhibit} 3: HB 3451, written testimony, Dr. Mark R. Abbott, 4 pp
3:20:12 PM {Exhibit} 4: HB 3451, written testimony, Bill Hall, 1 p
3:22:38 PM {Exhibit} 5: HB 3451, written testimony, JoAnn Barton, 2 pp
3:23:45 PM {Exhibit} 6 HB 3451, written testimony, John Lavrakas, 1 p
3:28:37 PM {Exhibit} 7: HB 3451, written testimony, Tim Josi, 3 pp
3:31:10 PM {Exhibit} 8: HB 3451, written testimony, Sandra Roumagoux, 1 p
3:31:12 PM {Exhibit} 9: HB 3451, written testimony, Jim Voetberg, 1 p
3:31:36 PM {Exhibit} 11: HB 2981, -1 amendment, staff, 2 pp
3:33:20 PM {Exhibit} 12: HB 2981, written testimony, Doris Penwell, 1 p
4:06:36 PM {Exhibit} 13: HB 2981, witness registration, staff, 1 p
```