HOUSE COMMITTEE ON ENERGY AND ENVIRONMENT

February 19, 2013 3:00 PM Hearing Room HR D

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Jules Bailey, Chair Rep. Deborah Boone, Vice Chair Rep. Mark Johnson, Vice Chair Rep. Cliff Bentz Rep. Michael Dembrow Rep. Jeff Reardon Rep. Jessica Vega Pederson Rep. Jim Weidner Rep. Gail Whitsett

STAFF PRESENT:	Adam Crawford, Committee Administrator
	Anne May, Committee Assistant

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: Introduction of Committee Measures – Work Session HB 2224 – Public Hearing HB 2472 – Public Hearing HB 2795 – Public Hearing HB 2796 – Public Hearing HB 2893 – Public Hearing HB 2820 – Public Hearing

Recording Log

- **3:05:07 PM** Meeting Called to Order by Chair Bailey
- 3:05:30 PM Introduction of Committee Measures Work Session
- **3:05:31 PM** {Exhibit} 1-4: Adam Crawford, Committee Administrator
- 3:05:43 PM MOTION: VICE-CHAIR JOHNSON MOVES LC 1004, LC 3246, LC 3360 AND LC 3715 BE INTRODUCED AS COMMITTEE BILLS
- 3:05:56 PM Vice-Chair Boone
- 3:06:33 PM Chair Bailey
- 3:06:56 PM VOTE: 9-0-0
- **3:06:57 PM** AYES: BENTZ, DEMBROW, REARDON, VEGA PEDERSON, WEIDNER, WHITSETT, BOONE, JOHNSON, BAILEY
- 3:07:08 PM HB 2224, HB 2472 Public Hearing
- 3:07:13 PM Chair Bailey
- 3:08:00 PM HB 2795, HB 2796 Public Hearing
- **3:08:02 PM** Adam Crawford, Committee Administrator

3:09:17 PM Chair Bailey 3:09:27 PM Glenn Montgomery, Executive Director, Oregon Solar Industries Association 3:13:10 PM Chair Bailey 3:13:12 PM Rep. Dembrow 3:13:26 PM Montgomery 3:14:00 PM Rep. Dembrow 3:14:02 PM Montgomery 3:14:10 PM Chair Bailey 3:14:10 PM Rep. Whitsett 3:14:20 PM Montgomery 3:14:29 PM Rep. Whitsett 3:14:35 PM Montgomery 3:14:46 PM Rep. Whitsett 3:14:55 PM Montgomery 3:15:15 PM Chair Bailey 3:15:51 PM Claire Carlson, Executive Director, Solar Oregon 3:17:49 PM Chair Bailey **3:17:50 PM** Mark Pengilly, Director, Oregonians for Renewable Energy Policy 3:19:26 PM Chair Bailey 3:19:28 PM {Exhibit} 5-6: John R. Cogar, resident, Lake County 3:23:34 PM Chair Bailey 3:23:36 PM Cogar 3:24:11 PM Chair Bailey 3:24:16 PM Rep. Dembrow 3:25:02 PM Carlson 3:25:26 PM Rep. Dembrow 3:25:32 PM Carlson 3:26:03 PM Rep. Dembrow 3:26:06 PM Carlson 3:26:38 PM Vice-Chair Boone 3:26:40 PM Chair Bailey 3:26:41 PM Rep. Bentz 3:27:27 PM Carlson 3:27:57 PM Rep. Bentz 3:28:15 PM Penailly 3:28:39 PM Rep. Bentz 3:28:57 PM Chair Bailey 3:29:03 PM Rep. Bentz 3:29:12 PM Chair Bailey 3:29:16 PM Rep. Vega Pederson 3:29:50 PM Carlson 3:30:40 PM Chair Bailey 3:30:43 PM Rep. Weidner 3:31:57 PM Chair Bailey

3:32:07 PM Vice-Chair Boone

- 3:32:44 PM Carlson
- 3:33:39 PM Chair Bailey
- **3:34:10 PM** {Exhibit} 7: Jason Heuser, Legislative Representative, Eugene Water and Electric Board
- 3:39:46 PM Chair Bailey
- **3:39:53 PM** {Exhibit} 8: John Gerstenberger, General Manager, Hood River Electric Co-op
- 3:46:19 PM Chair Bailey
- **3:46:22 PM** {Exhibit} 9-10: Scott Coe, General Manager, Emerald People's Utility District
- 3:50:49 PM Chair Bailey
- 3:50:58 PM Rep. Bentz
- 3:51:53 PM Coe
- 3:52:46 PM Chair Bailey
- **3:52:48 PM** Rep. Bentz
- 3:53:30 PM Coe
- 3:53:59 PM Chair Bailey
- 3:54:00 PM Vice-Chair Johnson
- 3:55:06 PM Gerstenberger
- 3:55:06 PM {Exhibit} 11-12: Jeff Nelson, General Manager, Springfield Utility Board
- 4:01:15 PM Chair Bailey
- **4:01:21 PM** {Exhibit} 13: Randy Whitaker, General Manager, Harney Electric Cooperative
- 4:05:50 PM Chair Bailey
- 4:06:04 PM Rep. Dembrow
- 4:06:40 PM Whitaker
- 4:06:50 PM Nelson
- 4:07:27 PM Rep. Dembrow
- 4:07:33 PM {Exhibit} 14-15: witness registration
- **4:07:37 PM** The following written testimony is submitted for the record without public testimony:
- **4:07:38PM** {Exhibit} 16-17: Michael Armstrong, Policy, Research and Operations Manager, City of Portland
- 4:07:39 PM Chair Bailey

4:08:09 PM HB 2893 - Public Hearing

- 4:08:57 PM Adam Crawford, Committee Administrator
- 4:09:01 PM Chair Bailey
- 4:09:35 PM Brain Pasko, Oregon Chapter Director, Sierra Club
- 4:13:13 PM Chair Bailey
- 4:13:57 PM David Barenberg, Citizen's Utility Board
- 4:14:48 PM Chair Bailey
- 4:14:50 PM {Exhibit} 18: Sarah Higginbotham, State Director, Environment Oregon
- 4:18:21 PM Chair Bailey
- 4:18:23 PM Rep. Weidner
- 4:19:16 PM Chair Bailey

- **4:19:57 PM** {Exhibit} 19: Mark Pengilly, Director, Oregonians for Renewable Energy Policy
- 4:25:22 PM Dan Bates, Renewable Northwest Project
- 4:25:54 PM Chair Bailey
- 4:26:56 PM Pengilly
- 4:26:58 PM Rep. Bentz
- 4:28:15 PM Pengilly
- 4:28:58 PM Rep. Bentz
- 4:29:02 PM Pengilly
- 4:30:04 PM Rep. Bentz
- 4:30:18 PM Chair Bailey
- **4:30:46 PM** {Exhibit} 20: Glenn Montgomery, Executive Director, Oregon Solar Energy Industries Association
- 4:33:55 PM Chair Bailey
- 4:34:06 PM {Exhibit} 21: Jennifer Hall, Operations Manager, Synchro Solar
- 4:36:47 PM Chair Bailey
- 4:36:56 PM Claire Carlson, Executive Director, Solar Oregon
- 4:40:37 PM Chair Bailey
- 4:40:41 PM Rep. Whitsett
- 4:41:32 PM Rep. Weidner
- 4:42:04 PM Hall
- 4:42:48 PM Chair Bailey
- 4:43:09 PM Rebecca Roth, Oregon
- 4:46:28 PM {Exhibit} 22: witness registration
- 4:46:29 PM Chair Bailey

4:46:39 PM HB 2820-Public Hearing

- 4:47:37 PM Vice-Chair Boone
- 4:47:43 PM Chair Bailey
- 4:48:03 PM Meeting Adjourned by Chair Bailey

Exhibit Summary

```
3:05:31 PM {Exhibit} 1: Introduction of Committee Measures, LC 1004, staff, 6 pp
3:05:31 PM {Exhibit} 2: Introduction of Committee Measures, LC 3246, staff, 5 pp
3:05:31 PM {Exhibit} 3: Introduction of Committee Measures, LC 3360, staff, 7 pp
3:05:31 PM {Exhibit} 4: Introduction of Committee Measures, LC 3715, staff, 1 p
3:19:28 PM {Exhibit} 5: HB 2795, written testimony, John R. Cogar, 3 pp
3:34:10 PM {Exhibit} 6: HB 2796, written testimony, John R. Cogar, 3 pp
3:39:53 PM {Exhibit} 8: HB 2795, written testimony, John Gerstenberger, 2 pp
3:46:22 PM {Exhibit} 9: HB 2795, written testimony, Scott Coe, 4 pp
3:46:23 PM {Exhibit} 10: HB 2796, written testimony, Scott Coe, 4 pp
4: Exhibit} 11: HB 2795, written testimony, Jeff Nelson, 5 pp
```

3:55:07 PM {Exhibit} 12: HB 2796, written testimony, Jeff Nelson, 5 pp
4:01:21 PM {Exhibit} 13: HB 2796, written testimony, Randy Whitaker, 2 pp
4:07:33 PM {Exhibit} 14: HB 2795, witness registration, staff, 1 p
4:07:33 PM {Exhibit} 15: HB 2796, written testimony, Michael Armstrong, 2 pp
4:07:44 PM {Exhibit} 16: HB 2795, written testimony, Michael Armstrong, 2 pp
4:07:45 PM {Exhibit} 17: HB 2796, written testimony, Michael Armstrong, 1 p
4:14:50 PM {Exhibit} 18: HB 2893, written testimony, Sarah Higginbotham, 2 pp
4:19:57 PM {Exhibit} 19: HB 2893, written testimony, Glenn Montgomery, 1 p
4:34:06 PM {Exhibit} 21: HB 2893, written testimony, Jennifer Hall, 1 p
4:46:28 PM {Exhibit} 22: HB 2893, writness registration, staff, 1 p