HOUSE COMMITTEE ON BUSINESS AND LABOR

February 27, 2013 Hearing Room E

8:30 AM

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Margaret Doherty, Chair

Rep. Brent Barton, Vice-Chair Rep. Bill Kennemer, Vice-Chair

Rep. Shemia Fagan Rep. Paul Holvey Rep. Greg Matthews Rep. Kim Thatcher Rep. Jim Thompson Rep. Jim Weidner Rep. Brad Witt

STAFF PRESENT: Jan Nordlund, Committee Administrator

Branden Pursinger, Committee Assistant

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: HB 2646 – Public Hearing

HB 2675 – Public Hearing HB 2677 – Public Hearing HB 2061 – Work Session HB 2069 – Work Session HB 2403 – Work Session

Recording Log

8:34:11 AM Meeting Called to Order by Chair Doherty

8:34:54 AM <u>HB 2646 - Public Hearing</u>

8:34:56 AM Jan Nordlund, Committee Administrator

8:35:18 AM Rep. Val Hoyle, House District 14

8:36:53 AM Chair Doherty

8:37:51 AM John Mohlis, Executive Secretary, Oregon State Building and Construction

Trades Council

8:39:34 AM Chair Doherty

8:39:40 AM Nathan Phillips, National Electrical Contractors Association

8:40:44 AM Brian Kriee, Plumming and Mechanical Contractors Association, Sheet

Metal and Air Conditioning Contractors Association, Oregon State

Association of Electrical Workers

8:41:25 AM Chair Doherty

8:41:30 AM Rep. Weidner

8:42:29 AM Mohlis

8:42:39 AM Rep. Weidner

8:42:40 AM Mohlis

8:43:03 AM Chair Doherty 8:43:08 AM Rep. Thompson 8:43:42 AM Mohlis 8:43:58 AM Chair Doherty 8:44:01 AM Rep. Thompson 8:44:02 AM Chair Doherty **8:44:26 AM** Drew Hagedorn, Oregon University System 8:45:42 AM Ryan Hagemann, General Council, Oregon University Systems 8:46:52 AM Hagedorn 8:47:06 AM Chair Doherty 8:47:29 AM Hillary Bounds, Director of Contracting and Purchasing, Oregon University System 8:48:07 AM Rep. Weidner 8:48:25 AM Bounds 8:49:07 AM Rep. Witt 8:49:22 AM Bounds 8:49:42 AM Rep. Witt 8:50:02 AM Bounds 8:50:04 AM Rep. Witt 8:50:21 AM Rep. Matthews 8:50:45 AM Hagedorn 8:51:48 AM Rep. Matthews 8:51:59 AM Chair Doherty 8:52:00 AM Rep. Holvey **8:54:48 AM** Hagedorn 8:55:07 AM Hagemann **8:55:49 AM** Rep. Holvey 8:55:50 AM Chair Doherty **8:55:53 AM** Rep. Weidner 8:56:20 AM Hagemann 8:56:52 AM Chair Doherty 8:56:53 AM Rep. Holvey **8:57:16 AM** Hagemann 8:57:44 AM {Exhibit} 1-2: Chair Doherty **8:58:45 AM** {Exhibit} 3: Witness Registration 8:58:58 AM HB 2675 and HB 2677 - Public Hearing 8:59:24 AM Chair Doherty 9:00:20 AM John Mohlis, Executive Secretary, Oregon State Building and Construction **Trades Council** 9:00:36 AM Chair Doherty 9:00:40 AM Jan Nordlund, Committee Administrator 9:00:43 AM Chair Doherty 9:00:44 AM Nordlund **9:01:35 AM** {Exhibit} 4-5: Mohlis

9:05:13 AM Nathan Phillips, National Electrical Contractors Association

9:07:27 AM Chair Doherty 9:07:29 AM Rick Metzger, Northwest Council of Carperters and Construction Alliance 9:08:59 AM Chair Doherty 9:09:02 AM Vice-Chair Kennemer 9:09:24 AM Phillips 9:09:37 AM Rep. Thatcher 9:10:01 AM Mohlis 9:10:14 AM Chair Doherty 9:10:21 AM Phillips 9:10:37 AM Rep. Weidner 9:11:08 AM Metzger 9:12:02 AM Rep. Thatcher **9:12:36 AM** Phillips 9:13:11 AM Rep. Thatcher **9:13:24 AM** Phillips 9:13:35 AM Rep. Thatcher 9:13:51 AM Phillips 9:14:10 AM Rep. Thatcher 9:14:17 AM Chair Doherty 9:14:41 AM Carl Harbaugh, small business owner, Oregon 9:17:04 AM Chair Doherty 9:17:08 AM Byron Hendricks, resident, Oregon 9:21:27 AM Chair Doherty 9:21:49 AM John Rakowitz, Association of General Contractors Oregon Columbia Chapters 9:25:51 AM Shawn Miller, Associated Billers and Contractors and Independent **Electrical Contractors** 9:27:16 AM Chair Doherty **9:27:21 AM** Rep. Fagan **9:27:57 AM** Rakowitz 9:28:45 AM Miller 9:29:17 AM Rakowitz **9:29:53 AM** Rep. Holvey 9:32:40 AM Chair Doherty 9:32:41 AM Miller 9:34:00 AM Chair Doherty **9:34:02 AM** Rep. Holvey 9:34:41 AM Chair Doherty 9:35:06 AM {Exhibit} 6-7: Sean Jillions, Oregon Economic Development Association 9:37:24 AM {Exhibit} 8: Shannon Stadey, Business Recruitment Specialist and Gresham Enterprise Zone Co-Manager, City of Gresham 9:39:44 AM Steve Dahl, Economic Development Director, City of Grants Pass 9:41:36 AM Rep. Fagan 9:42:24 AM Dahl 9:43:00 AM Chair Doherty **9:43:03 AM** Stadey

9:43:41 AM Rep. Fagan **9:44:14 AM** Dahl 9:45:01 AM Rep. Doherty 9:45:02 AM Rep. Matthews 9:45:56 AM Chair Doherty 9:45:58 AM Rep. Matthews 9:46:20 AM {Exhibit} 9: Mike Eliason, Association of Oregon Counties 9:48:20 AM Scott Winkels, Leauge of Oregon Cities 9:51:51 AM Chair Doherty 9:51:52 AM Vice-Chair Kennemer 9:52:33 AM Rep. Weidner 9:53:19 AM Winkels 9:53:30 AM Chair Doherty 9:53:31 AM Winkels **9:53:56 AM** {Exhibit} 10-16: Chair Doherty 9:54:41 AM HB 2061 - Work Session 9:54:48 AM Jan Nordlund, Committee Administrator 9:55:11 AM Chair Doherty 9:55:15 AM Vice-Chair Kennemer 9:55:17 AM MOTION: VICE-CHAIR KENNEMER MOVES HB 2061 DO PASS AS **AMENDED 9:55:30 AM** Rep. Weidner 9:56:20 AM Chair Doherty 9:56:22 AM Vice-Chair Barton 9:56:44 AM Chair Doherty 9:56:48 AM VOTE: 6-4-0 9:56:51 AM AYES: MATTHEWS, WITT, HOLVEY, FAGAN, KENNEMER, DOHERTY 9:56:56 AM NAYS: THOMPSON, THATCHER, WEIDNER, BARTON 9:57:31 AM CARRIER: REP. HOLVEY WILL LEAD DISCUSSION ON THE FLOOR 9:57:40 AM HB 2069 - Work Session 9:57:40 AM Chair Doherty 9:57:46 AM Jan Nordlund, Committee Administrator 9:58:06 AM Chair Doherty 9:58:09 AM Vice-Chair Kennemer 9:58:14 AM MOTION: REP. KENNEMER MOVES HB 2069 DO PASS 9:58:21 AM Chair Doherty 9:58:33 AM VOTE: 10-0-0 9:58:33 AM AYES: MATTHEWS, THATCHER, WEIDNER, HOLVEY, WITT, THOMPSON, FAGAN, KENNEMER, BARTON, DOHERTY 9:58:54 AM CARRIER: REP. KENNEMER WILL LEAD DISCUSSION ON THE **FLOOR** 9:59:04 AM <u>HB 2403 - Work Session</u>

9:59:06 AM Jan Nordlund, Committee Administrator

- 9:59:31 AM Vice-Chair Kennemer
- 9:59:44 AM MOTION: REP. KENNEMER MOVES HB 2403 WITHOUT RECOMMENDATION AND BE REFERRED TO HOUSE JUDICIARY
- 9:59:45 AM Chair Doherty
- 9:59:57 AM Rep. Witt
- 10:01:16 AM Chair Doherty
- 10:01:31 AM Rep. Weidner
- **10:01:39 AM** VOTE: 10-0-0
- 10:01:39 AM AYES: FAGAN, WEIDNER, WITT, THATCHER, BARTON, KENNEMER,
 - HOLVEY, THOMPSON, MATTHEWS, DOHERTY
- **10:01:55 AM** Meeting Adjourned by Chair Doherty

Exhibit Summary

8:57:44 AM {Exhibit} 1: HB 2646, written testimony, Jamie Moffitt, 1 p 8:57:44 AM {Exhibit} 2: HB 2646, written testimony, Len Norwitz, 1 p 8:58:45 AM {Exhibit} 3: HB 2646, witness registration, staff, 1 p 9:01:35 AM {Exhibit} 4: HB 2675, written testimony, John Mohlis, 1 p 9:01:35 AM {Exhibit} 5: HB 2677, written testimony, John Mohlis, 1 p 9:35:06 AM {Exhibit} 6: HB 2675, written testimony, Sean Jillions, 1p 9:35:06 AM {Exhibit} 7: HB 2677, written testimony, Sean Jillions, 3 pp 9:37:24 AM {Exhibit} 8: HB 2675, written testimony, Shannon Stadey, 2 pp 9:46:20 AM {Exhibit} 9: HB 2675, written testimony, Mike Eliason, 2 pp 9:53:56 AM {Exhibit} 10: HB 2675, written testimony, Douglas Rux, 1 p 9:53:56 AM {Exhibit} 11: HB 2675, written testimony, J.L. Wilson, 1 p 9:53:56 AM {Exhibit} 12: HB 2675, written testimony, Eileen Ophus, 1 p 9:53:56 AM {Exhibit} 13: HB 2677, written testimony, J.L. Wilson, 1 p 9:53:56 AM {Exhibit} 14: HB 2677, written testimony, Don Mazziotti, 1 p 9:53:56 AM {Exhibit} 15: HB 2675, witness registration, staff, 1 p 9:53:56 AM {Exhibit} 16: HB 2677, witness registration, staff, 1 p