HOUSE COMMITTEE ON BUSINESS AND LABOR

February 15, 2013 8:30 AM **Hearing Room E**

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Rep. Margaret Doherty, Chair Rep. Brent Barton, Vice Chair Rep. Bill Kennemer, Vice Chair Rep. Shemia Fagan Rep. Paul Holvey Rep. Greg Matthews Rep. Kim Thatcher Rep. Jim Thompson Rep. Jim Weidner Rep. Brad Witt
STAFF PRESENT:	Jan Nordlund, Committee Administrator Branden Pursinger, Committee Assistant
MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD:	Introduction of Committee Measures LC 833 LC 2671 LC 3570 HB 2214 – Public Hearing HB 2340 – Public Hearing HB 2478 – Public Hearing HB 2070 – Public Hearing HB 2242 – Work Session HB 2566 – Work Session

Recording Log

- 8:32:08 AM Meeting Called to Order by Chair Doherty
- 8:32:11 AM Introduction of Committee Measures Work Session
- 8:32:11 AM Chair Doherty
- 8:32:20 AM {Exhibit} 1-3: Introduction of Committee Measures
- 8:32:24 AM MOTION: VICE-CHAIR BARTON MOVES LC 833, 2671 AND 3570 BE INTRODUCED AS COMMITTEE BILLS
- 8:32:40 AM Chair Doherty
- 8:32:56 AM VOTE: 8-0-2
- 8:33:01 AM AYES: FAGAN, WEIDNER, WITT, THATCHER, BARTON, DOHERTY, KENNEMER, MATTHEWS
- 8:33:01 AM EXCUSED: HOLVEY, THOMPSON

8:33:20 AM HB 2214 - Public Hearing 8:33:22 AM Chair Doherty 8:33:23 AM {Exhibit} 4: Jan Nordlund, Committee Administrator 8:34:12 AM {Exhibit} 5: Ron Wagner, Executive Director, Board of Tax Practitioners 8:41:23 AM Chair Doherty 8:41:27 AM Vice-Chair Kennemer 8:41:43 AM Wagner 8:42:04 AM Vice-Chair Kennemer 8:42:15 AM Wagner 8:42:23 AM Rep. Thatcher 8:42:40 AM Wagner 8:43:01 AM Rep. Thatcher 8:43:19 AM Wagner 8:44:35 AM Rep. Thatcher 8:44:52 AM Wagner 8:45:21 AM Rep. Thatcher 8:45:52 AM Chair Doherty 8:45:55 AM Rep. Weidner 8:46:28 AM Wagner 8:46:38 AM Rep. Weidner 8:46:42 AM Wagner 8:46:43 AM Rep. Weidner 8:46:47 AM Wagner 8:48:26 AM Rep. Weidner 8:48:37 AM Wagner 8:48:48 AM Rep. Weidner 8:48:49 AM Wagner 8:50:07 AM Rep. Matthews 8:50:07 AM Chair Doherty 8:50:08 AM Rep. Matthews 8:50:33 AM Wagner 8:50:34 AM Rep. Matthews 8:50:42 AM Wagner 8:51:24 AM Rep. Matthews 8:52:39 AM Wagner 8:55:21 AM Chair Doherty 8:55:43 AM Jan Salisbury, Board Chair, Board of Tax Practitioners 8:59:47 AM Chair Doherty 8:59:51 AM Salisbury 9:00:55 AM Chair Doherty **9:00:59 AM** Rep. Witt 9:01:42 AM Vice-Chair Kennemer 9:01:47 AM Salisbury

- **9:02:17 AM** Chair Doherty
- 0.02.22 AM Wagner
- 9:02:22 AM Wagner
- 9:02:48 AM Chair Doherty

- 9:03:24 AM Daniel Stearns, United States Tax Court Bar
- 9:08:44 AM Ted Hughes, Oregon Association of Independent Accountants
- 9:09:39 AM Chair Doherty
- 9:09:43 AM Rep. Witt
- 9:10:03 AM Hughes
- 9:10:25 AM Rep. Witt
- 9:10:26 AM Stearns
- 9:10:43 AM Rep. Weidner
- 9:11:03 AM Stearns
- 9:11:11 AM Hughes
- 9:11:20 AM Vice-Chair Kennemer
- 9:12:04 AM Chair Doherty
- 9:12:25 AM William Withorland, tax agent
- 9:14:55 AM Ira Rosenberg, President, Oregon Society of Enrolled Agents
- **9:16:14 AM** The following written testimony is submitted for the record without public testimony:
- 9:16:14 AM {Exhibit} 6: Matt Kehoe, Chair, Oregon State Bar Public Affairs Committee
- 9:16:14 AM {Exhibit} 7: Ken Kindig, LTC, Oregon
- 9:16:15 AM Chair Doherty

9:16:31 AM HB 2340 - Public Hearing

- 9:16:36 AM Jan Nordlund, Committee Administrator
- **9:17:02 AM** Mike Caldwell, Brigadier General, Deputy Director Oregon Military Department
- 9:17:56 AM Martin Plotner, Director, Oregon Office of Emergency Management
- 9:20:20 AM Chair Doherty
- 9:20:25 AM Rep. Weidner
- 9:21:09 AM Caldwell
- 9:23:40 AM Rep. Witt
- 9:24:41 AM Plotner
- 9:25:49 AM Rep. Witt
- 9:25:54 AM Caldwell
- 9:25:58 AM Rep. Weidner
- 9:26:23 AM Plotner
- 9:26:49 AM Chair Doherty
- 9:27:00 AM Caldwell
- 9:27:47 AM Chair Doherty
- 9:28:17 AM Mike Eliason, General Counsel, Association of Oregon Counties
- 9:31:37 AM Alex Cayler, Intergovernmental Relations Manager, Lane County
- 9:33:31 AM Chair Doherty

9:33:55 AM HB 2478 - Public Hearing

- 9:33:56 AM Chair Doherty
- 9:33:57 AM Jan Nordlund, Committee Administrator
- 9:35:01 AM Chris Allanach, Legislative Revenue Office
- 9:37:35 AM {Exhibit} 8: Susan Degen, Administrator of State Grants and Government

Affairs, Oregon Student Access Commission 9:40:34 AM Chair Doherty 9:40:42 AM Degen 9:41:32 AM Rep. Witt 9:41:49 AM Degen 9:42:18 AM Rep. Witt 9:42:41 AM Rep. Holvey 9:42:55 AM Degen 9:43:22 AM Rep. Holvey 9:43:44 AM Degen 9:44:07 AM Rep. Holvey 9:44:10 AM Chair Doherty 9:44:17 AM Degen 9:44:39 AM Chair Doherty 9:44:46 AM Degen 9:45:02 AM Chair Doherty 9:45:06 AM Degen 9:45:08 AM Chair Doherty 9:45:11 AM Vice-Chair Kennemer 9:45:19 AM Degen 9:45:27 AM Allanach 9:45:31 AM Vice-Chair Kennemer 9:45:39 AM Allanach 9:45:53 AM Chair Doherty 9:46:10 AM Betsy Earls, Associated Oregon Industries 9:47:16 AM Chair Doherty 9:47:29 AM HB 2070 - Public Hearing 9:47:32 AM Chair Doherty 9:47:51 AM {Exhibit} 9: Jan Nordlund, Committee Administrator **9:48:24 AM** Tim Martinez, Oregon Bankers Association **9:51:25 AM** Jeff Sumpter, Co-President, Lewis and Clark Bank 9:51:33 AM Chair Doherty 9:51:37 AM Sumpter 9:54:30 AM Chair Doherty 9:54:44 AM Martinez 9:55:30 AM Chair Doherty 9:55:35 AM Martinez 9:55:35 AM Rep. Holvey 9:55:55 AM Sumpter 9:56:37 AM Vice-Chair Barton 9:57:25 AM Martinez

9:57:56 AM Chair Doherty

9:58:06 AM HB 2242 - Work Session

9:58:09 AM Chair Doherty

9:58:11 AM Jan Nordlund, Committee Administrator

- 9:58:34 AM Vice-Chair Barton
- 9:58:38 AM MOTION: VICE-CHAIR BARTON MOVES HB 2242 DO PASS
- 9:59:27 AM VOTE: 10-0-0
- **9:59:29 AM** AYES: WITT, THOMPSON, THATCHER, MATTHEWS, HOLVEY, WEIDNER, FAGAN, BARTON, KENNEMER, DOHERTY
- 9:59:43 AM CARRIER: REP. THATCHER WILL LEAD DISCUSSION ON THE FLOOR

9:59:55 AM HB 2566 - Work Session

9:59:59 AM Jan Nordlund, Committee Administrator

10:00:18 AM Vice-Chair Barton

10:00:23 AM MOTION: VICE-CHAIR BARTON MOVES HB 2566 DO PASS

10:01:01 AM VOTE: 10-0-0

10:01:02 AM AYES: THOMPSON, MATTHEWS, WITT, THATCHER, FAGAN, HOLVEY, WITT, KENNEMER, BARTON, DOHERTY

10:01:05 AM CARRIER: REP. BARTON WILL LEAD DISCUSSION ON THE FLOOR 10:01:11 AM Meeting Adjourned by Chair Doherty

Exhibit Summary

8:32:20 AM {Exhibit} 1: Introduction of Committee Measures, LC 833, staff, 31 pp 8:32:20 AM {Exhibit} 2: Introduction of Committee Measures, LC 2671, staff, 30 pp 8:32:20 AM {Exhibit} 3: Introduction of Committee Measures, LC 3570, staff, 18 pp 8:33:23 AM {Exhibit} 4: HB 2214, -2 amendments, staff, 2 pp 8:34:12 AM {Exhibit} 5: HB 2214, written testimony, Ron Wagner, 1p 9:16:14 AM {Exhibit} 6: HB 2214, written testimony, Matt Kehoe, 1 p 9:16:14 AM {Exhibit} 7: HB 2214, written testimony, Ken Kindig, 1 p 9:37:35 AM {Exhibit} 8: HB 2478, written testimony, Susan Degen, 1 p 9:47:51 AM {Exhibit} 9: HB 2070, -1 amendments, staff, 1 p