HOUSE COMMITTEE ON BUSINESS AND LABOR

February 06, 2013 Hearing Room E

8:30 AM

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Margaret Doherty, Chair

Rep. Brent Barton, Vice Chair Rep. Bill Kennemer, Vice Chair

Rep. Shemia Fagan Rep. Tim Freeman Rep. Paul Holvey Rep. Greg Matthews Rep. Kim Thatcher Rep. Brad Witt

MEMBER EXCUSED: Rep. Jim Thompson

STAFF PRESENT: Jan Nordlund, Committee Administrator

Kate Coy, Committee Policy Analyst Branden Pursinger, Committee Assistant

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: Organizational Meeting

Adoption of Committee Rules

Introduction of Committee Measures - Work Session

LC 758 LC 1324 LC 1325 LC 1405 LC 1640 LC 1761

HB 2111 – Public Hearing HB 2112 – Public Hearing

HB 2057 – Public Hearing and Work Session HB 2268 – Public Hearing and Work Session

Recording Log

8:32:00 AM Meeting Called to Order by Chair Doherty

8:32:19 AM Adoption of the Committee Rules - Organizational Meeting

8:32:32 AM Vice-Chair Barton

8:32:35 AM MOTION: VICE-CHAIR BARTON MOVES ADOPTION OF COMMITTEE RULES

8:32:36 AM Chair Doherty **8:32:44 AM** VOTE: 9-0-1

8:32:44 AM AYES: FAGAN, FREEMAN, BARTON, DOHERTY, THATCHER, KENNEMER,

MATTHEWS, HOLVEY, WITT 8:32:44 AM **EXCUSED: THOMPSON** Introduction of Committee Measures - Work Session 8:33:02 AM 8:33:02 AM {Exhibit} 1 - 6: Chair Doherty 8:33:25 AM Vice-Chair Barton 8:33:30 AM MOTION: VICE-CHAIR BARTON MOVES LC 758, 1324, 1325, 1405, 1640, and 1761 BE INTRODUCED AS COMMITTEE BILLS 8:34:21 AM Chair Doherty 8:34:49 AM VOTE: 9-0-1 8:34:49 AM AYES: FAGAN, FREEMAN, BARTON, DOHERTY, THATCHER, KENNEMER, MATTHEWS, HOLVEY, WITT 8:34:49 AM **EXCUSED: THOMPSON HB 2111 - Public Hearing** 8:34:58 AM 8:35:12 AM Jan Nordlund, Committee Administrator 8:35:32 AM Chair Doherty {Exhibit} 7: Elizabeth Cushwa, Legislative Director, The Bureau of Labor and 8:36:09 AM Industries 8:37:44 AM Bob Joondeph, Executive Director, Disabilities Rights Oregon 8:41:11 AM Chair Doherty Vice-Chair Barton 8:41:16 AM 8:41:41 AM Joondeph Cushwa 8:41:47 AM 8:42:15 AM Chair Doherty 8:42:18 AM Rep. Freeman 8:42:46 AM Cushwa 8:42:54 AM Joondeph 8:43:35 AM Cushwa 8:43:50 AM Rep. Freeman 8:44:18 AM Chair Doherty 8:44:21 AM Rep. Holvey 8:44:47 AM Chair Doherty Rep. Fagan 8:44:52 AM **Chair Doherty** 8:45:49 AM 8:46:18 AM {Exhibit} 8: J.L. Wilson, Associated Oregon Industries 8:49:51 AM **Chair Doherty** {Exhibit} 9: Jan Meekcoms, Oregon State Director, National Federation of 8:49:56 AM **Independent Business** Chair Doherty 8:51:44 AM {Exhibit} 10: Curt Arthur, Oregon State Chamber of Commerce, Oregon 8:52:12 AM 8:54:09 AM Chair Doherty Jim Geisinger, Association of Oregon Loggers 8:54:11 AM 8:56:35 AM **Chair Doherty** 8:56:39 AM Vice-Chair Barton 8:57:23 AM Geisinger 8:58:11 AM **Chair Doherty** Rep. Fagan 8:58:14 AM 8:58:42 AM Arthur

8:59:14 AM

Chair Doherty

| | 3.4.4.4 |
|--|--|
| 8:59:27 AM 8:59:31 AM 8:59:46 AM 9:00:22 AM 9:02:24 AM 9:04:33 AM 9:04:35 AM 9:05:53 AM 9:05:53 AM 9:06:20 AM 9:08:43 AM 9:08:44 AM 9:10:11 AM 9:10:37 AM 9:10:56 AM 9:12:35 AM | HB 2112-Public Hearing Jan Nordlund, Committee Administrator Chair Doherty Elizabeth Cushwa, Legislative Director, The Bureau of Labor and Industries Gerhard Taeubel, Administrator of the Wage and Hour Division, Bureau of Labor Industries Chair Doherty Rep. Freeman Taeubel Chair Doherty {Exhibit} 11: J.L. Wilson, Associated Oregon Industries Chair Doherty {Exhibit} 12: Jan Meekcoms, State Director, National Federation of Independent Business (Oregon) Ian Tolleson, Oregon Farm Bureau Chair Doherty Carl Harbaugh, small business owner, Salem Chair Doherty |
| 9:12:53 AM 9:13:22 AM 9:13:53 AM 9:17:51 AM 9:17:55 AM 9:18:37 AM 9:19:41 AM | HB 2057-Public Hearing Kate Coy, Committee Policy Analyst {Exhibit} 13: Tom Erwin, Government Affairs Director, Oregon Liquor Control Commission Chair Doherty Rep. Thatcher Erwin Chair Doherty |
| 9:20:00 AM 9:20:06 AM 9:20:07 AM 9:20:18 AM 9:20:23 AM 9:20:36 AM 9:20:57 AM 9:21:00 AM 9:21:17 AM 9:21:30 AM 9:21:37 AM 9:21:40 AM 9:21:45 AM 9:21:45 AM 9:21:56 AM 9:21:58 AM | HB 2057- Work Session Vice-Chair Barton MOTION: VICE-CHAIR BARTON MOVES HB 2057 DO PASS Rep. Thatcher Coy Chair Doherty VOTE: 9-0-1 AYES: FREEMAN, MATTHEWS, HOLVEY, FAGAN, WITT, THACHER, KENNEMER, BARTON, DOHERTY EXCUSED: THOMPSON Chair Doherty Rep. Kennemer Chair Doherty Rep. Fagan Chair Doherty Rep. Kennemer CARRIER: KENNERMER WILL LEAD DISCUSSION ON THE FLOOR |
| 9:22:07 AM 9:22:42 AM 9:22:44 AM 9:23:18 AM 9:24:32 AM | HB 2268 - Public Hearing Chair Doherty Jan Nordlund, Committee Administrator James Denno, Administrator, Board of Architect Examiners Chair Doherty |

```
9:24:37 AM
            Leonard Lodder, President, American Institute of Architects - Oregon
            Chair Doherty
9:25:16 AM
            Rep. Freeman
9:25:19 AM
9:25:52 AM
            Denno
            Rep. Freeman
9:27:14 AM
9:27:30 AM
            Denno
9:28:01 AM
            Lodder
            Rep. Freeman
9:28:44 AM
9:28:51 AM
            Chair Doherty
            Vice-Chair Barton
9:28:53 AM
9:28:54 AM
            Chair Doherty
9:28:55 AM
            Rep. Fagan
9:29:35 AM
            Denno
9:30:12 AM
            Lodder
9:31:20 AM
            Chair Doherty
9:31:26 AM
            Rep. Fagan
9:31:30 AM
            Chair Doherty
9:31:33 AM
            Rep. Holvey
            Denno
9:31:55 AM
9:31:57 AM
            Rep. Holvey
9:32:02 AM
            Chair Doherty
9:32:08 AM
            HB 2268 - Work Session
            Chair Doherty
9:32:12 AM
9:32:13 AM
            Vice-Chair Barton
            MOTION: VICE-CHAIR BARTON MOVES HB 2268 DO PASS
9:32:18 AM
9:32:29 AM
            Chair Doherty
9:32:53 AM
            VOTE: 9-0-1
            AYES: FAGAN, MATTHEWS, WITT, THATCHER, FREEMAN, HOLVEY,
9:32:53 AM
            KENNEMER, BARTON, DOHERTY
9:33:06 AM
            EXCUSED: THOMPSON
9:33:28 AM
            Chair Doherty
9:33:36 AM
            Rep. Fagan
            Chair Doherty
9:33:44 AM
            CARRIER: REP. FAGAN WILL LEAD DISCUSSION ON THE FLOOR
9:33:46 AM
9:33:55 AM
            Rep. Witt
9:34:19 AM
            Chair Doherty
            Rep. Witt
9:34:27 AM
            Chair Doherty
9:35:26 AM
            Rep. Witt
9:35:40 AM
            Chair Doherty
9:35:42 AM
9:35:44 AM
            Rep. Matthews
            Chair Doherty
9:36:38 AM
9:36:40 AM
            Rep. Thatcher
            Nordlund
9:36:51 AM
9:37:06 AM
            Chair Doherty
9:37:18 AM
            Meeting Adjourned by Chair Doherty
```

Exhibit Summary

```
8:33:02 AM
              {Exhibit} 1: Introduction of Committee Measures, LC 758, staff, 17 pp
8:33:02 AM
              {Exhibit} 2: Introduction of Committee Measures, LC 1324, staff, 3 pp
              {Exhibit} 3: Introduction of Committee Measures, LC 1325, staff, 3 pp
8:33:02 AM
8:33:02 AM
              {Exhibit} 4: Introduction of Committee Measures, LC 1405, staff, 10 pp
8:33:02 AM
              {Exhibit} 5: Introduction of Committee Measures, LC 1640, staff, 6 pp
8:33:02 AM
              {Exhibit} 6: Introduction of Committee Measures, LC 1761, staff, 2 pp
8:36:09 AM
              {Exhibit} 7: HB 2111, written testimony, Elizabeth Cushwa, 1 p
              {Exhibit} 8: HB 2111, written testimony, J.L. Wilson, 2 pp
8:46:18 AM
8:49:56 AM
              {Exhibit} 9: HB 2111, written testimony, Jan Meekcoms, 1 p
8:52:12 AM
              {Exhibit} 10: HB 2111, written testimony, Curt Arthur, 1 p
9:06:20 AM
              {Exhibit} 11: HB 2112, written testimony, J.L. Wilson, 1 p
              {Exhibit} 12: HB 2112, written testimony, Jan Meekcoms, 1 p
9:08:44 AM
              {Exhibit} 13: HB 2057, written testimony, Tom Erwin, 2 pp
9:13:53 AM
9:23:18 AM
              {Exhibit} 14: HB 2268, written testimony, James Denno, 2 pp
              {Exhibit} 15: HB 2268, written testimony, Leonard Lodder, 1 p
9:24:37 AM
```