HOUSE COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE AND NATURAL RESOURCES

February 12, 2013 Hearing Room D

8:00 am

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Brad Witt, Chair

Rep. Caddy McKeown, Vice Chair Rep. Sal Esquivel, Vice Chair

Rep. Brian Clem Rep. Wayne Krieger Rep. Jeff Reardon Rep. Jim Thompson Rep. Ben Unger Rep. Gail Whitsett

STAFF PRESENT: Beth Patrino, Committee Administrator

Maria Kelly, Committee Assistant

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: HB 2700 - Public Hearing

HB 2244 – Public Hearing and Work Session HB 2245 – Public Hearing and Work Session HB 2246 – Public Hearing and Work Session

Recording Log

8:03:02 AM Meeting Called to Order by Chair Witt

8:03:23 AM HB 2700 - Public Hearing

8:03:50 AM Rep. Buckley

8:05:12 AM Chair Witt

8:05:20 AM Vice-Chair Esquivel

8:06:20 AM Chair Witt

8:08:30 AM {Exhibit} 1: Ivan Maluski, Policy Director, Friends of Family Farmers

8:11:54 AM Chair Witt

8:11:59 AM Jared Gardner, Friends of Family Farmers

8:18:53 AM Chair Witt

8:18:58 AM {Exhibit} 2: Lynn Voigt, State Executive Director U.S. Department of

Agriculture Farm Service Agency

8:26:03 AM Chair Witt

8:26:28 AM Rep. Krieger

8:28:34 AM Gardner

8:28:58 AM Chair Witt

8:29:01 AM Rep. Unger

8:29:22 AM Maluski

8:29:58 AM Rep. Unger

8:30:02 AM Vice-Chair Esquivel **8:30:18 AM** Chair Witt **8:30:21 AM** Rep. Whitsett 8:30:40 AM Gardner 8:31:32 AM Rep. Whitsett 8:31:45 AM Gardner **8:32:08 AM** Chair Witt 8:32:14 AM Rep. Clem 8:33:07 AM Chair Witt 8:34:06 AM Rep. Clem **8:34:10 AM** Chair Witt 8:35:35 AM {Exhibit} 3: Rebecca Landis, Oregon Farmers Market Association **8:38:56 AM** Chair Witt 8:39:05 AM Vice-Chair McKeown 8:39:27 AM Landis 8:39:54 AM Chair Witt 8:40:26 AM {Exhibit} 4: Michael Guebert, Terra Farma 8:44:50 AM Chair Witt 8:44:58 AM {Exhibit} 5: Kate Sherman, Cauliflower Conspiracy 8:52:24 AM Chair Witt **8:52:37 AM** Rep. Reardon 8:53:00 AM Sherman **8:53:57 AM** Guebert 8:54:34 AM Rep. Reardon 8:54:38 AM Chair Witt 8:56:07 AM Rebecca Roth 9:00:25 AM Chair Witt 9:00:56 AM Peggy Salis-Halsey 9:02:13 AM Rep. Clem 9:02:14 AM The following written testimony is submitted for the record without public testimony 9:02:15 AM {Exhibit} 6: Carrie Sendak, Mama Tee's Farmstead 9:02:16 AM {Exhibit} 7: Rebecca Thistlethwaite, Principal Consultant, Sustain Consulting - Food & Farming Sustainability 9:02:17 AM {Exhibit} 8: Garry Stephenson, PhD, Coordinator, Oregon State University Extension Small Farm Program 9:02:18 AM {Exhibit} 9: Nathan Moomaw 9:02:19 AM {Exhibit} 10: Karen Wagner, Staff Director, Oregon Rural Action **9:02:20 AM** {Exhibit} 11: Kristy Athens 9:02:21 AM {Exhibit} 12: Michael Menzies, Braeside Farms, LLC 9:02:22 AM {Exhibit} 13: Mitra Sticklen 9:02:23 AM {Exhibit} 14: Tracy Harrison, Nagdeo Farm, Wooded Creek Stables 9:02:24 AM {Exhibit} 15: Andy Westlund, Board of Directors, Organically Grown Co. 9:02:25 AM {Exhibit} 16: Michael Selvaggio, Policy Director, Oregon State Treasury 9:02:26 AM {Exhibit} 17: Stuart O'Neill, Executive Director, Rogue Farm Corps 9:02:27 AM {Exhibit} 18: Kasandra Griffin, Policy Manager, Food and School Health,

9:02:29 AM 9:02:30 AM 9:02:31 AM	Upstream Public Health {Exhibit} 19: Teresa Retzlaff, 46 North Farm {Exhibit} 20: Lisa Dawson, Executive Director, Northeast Oregon Economic Development District {Exhibit} 21: Julie Noble, Beautiful Buffalo Farm {Exhibit} 22: Kate Coppoletta and Rowan Steele {Exhibit} 23: Aren Hinely, Yamhill River Farm LLC.
9:03:37 AM 9:03:45 AM	{Exhibit} 24: Lisa Hanson, Deputy Director, Oregon Department of Agriculture
	Hanson
9:09:08 AM 9:09:55 AM 9:10:01 AM 9:10:33 AM 9:10:37 AM 9:10:44 AM 9:11:02 AM 9:11:06 AM 9:11:17 AM	Rep. Krieger Vice-Chair Esquivel Chair Witt Rep. Thompson Hanson Chair Witt Rep. Reardon Jim Cramer, Agriculture Marketing and Certification Program Director, Oregon Department of Agriculture
9:12:48 AM 9:13:25 AM 9:13:25 AM	HB 2244 - Work Session MOTION: VICE-CHAIR McKEOWN MOVES HB 2244 DO PASS AND BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR VOTE: 8-0-1 AYES: WITT, ESQUIVEL, McKEOWN, KRIEGER, REARDON THOMPSON, UNGER, WHITSETT EXCUSED: CLEM

- 9:13:35 AM HB 2245 Work Session 9:13:48 AM MOTION: VICE-CHAIR McKEOWN MOVES HB 2245 DO PASS AND BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR 9:13:56 AM Chair Witt **9:14:25 AM** VOTE: 9-0-0 9:14:25 AM AYES: WITT, ESQUIVEL, McKEOWN, CLEM, KRIEGER, REARDON, THOMPSON, UNGER, WHITSETT 9:14:40 AM HB 2246 - Work Session 9:15:40 AM Chair Witt 9:16:50 AM MOTION: VICE-CHAIR McKEOWN MOVES HB 2246 DO PASS 9:16:56 AM Chair Witt 9:17:14 AM Roll Call 9:17:14 AM AYES: WITT, ESQUIVEL, McKEOWN, CLEM, KRIEGER, REARDON, THOMPSON, UNGER, WHITSETT 9:17:14 AM VOTE: 9-0-0 **9:18:09 AM** Chair Witt 9:18:29 AM CARRIER: REP. REARDON WILL LEAD DISCUSSION ON THE FLOOR

9:19:11 AM Beth Patrino. Committee Administrator

9:19:38 AM Meeting Adjorned by Chair Witt

Exhibit Summary

```
8:08:30 AM {Exhibit} 1: HB 2700, written testimony, Ivan Maluski, 1 p
8:18:58 AM {Exhibit} 2: HB 2700, written testimony, Lynn Voigt, 2 pp
8:35:35 AM {Exhibit} 3: HB 2700, written testimony, Rebecca Landis, 1 p
8:40:26 AM {Exhibit} 4: HB 2700, written testimony, Michael Guebert, 1 p
8:44:58 AM {Exhibit} 5: HB 2700, written testimony, Kate Sherman, 4 pp
9:02:15 AM {Exhibit} 6: HB 2700, written testimony, Carrie Sendak, 1 p
9:02:16 AM {Exhibit} 7: HB 2700, written testimony, Rebecca Thistlethwaite, 2 pp
9:02:17 AM {Exhibit} 8: HB 2700, written testimony, Garry Stephenson, 2 pp
9:02:18 AM {Exhibit} 9: HB 2700, written testimony, Nathan Moomaw, 1 p
9:02:19 AM {Exhibit} 10: HB 2700, written testimony, Karen Wagner, 2 pp
9:02:20 AM {Exhibit} 11: HB 2700, written testimony, Kristy Athens, 1 p
9:02:21 AM {Exhibit} 12: HB 2700, written testimony, Michael Menzies, 1 p
9:02:22 AM {Exhibit} 13: HB 2700, written testimony, Mitra Sticklen, 1 p
9:02:23 AM {Exhibit} 14: HB 2700, written testimony, Tracy Harrison, 1 p
9:02:24 AM {Exhibit} 15: HB 2700, written testimony, Andy Westlund, 1 p
9:02:25 AM {Exhibit} 16: HB 2700, written testimony, Michael Selvaggio, 1 p
9:02:26 AM {Exhibit} 17: HB 2700, written testimony, Stuart O'Neill, 1 p
9:02:27 AM {Exhibit} 18: HB 2700, written testimony, Kasandra Griffin, 1 p
9:02:28 AM {Exhibit} 19: HB 2700, written testimony, Teresa Retzlaff, 2 pp
9:02:29 AM {Exhibit} 20: HB 2700, written testimony, Lisa Dawson, 1 p
9:02:30 AM {Exhibit} 21: HB 2700, written testimony, Julie Noble, 1 p
```

```
9:02:31 AM {Exhibit} 22: HB 2700, written testimony, Kate Coppoletta and Rowan Steele, 1 p
9:02:32 AM {Exhibit} 23: HB 2700, written testimony, Aren Hinely, 1 p
9:04:08 AM {Exhibit} 24: HB 2244, written testimony, Lisa Hanson, 1 p
9:07:40 AM {Exhibit} 25: HB 2245, written testimony, Lisa Hanson, 1 p
9:09:08 AM {Exhibit} 26: HB 2246, written testimony, Lisa Hanson, 1 p
```