## Enrolled Senate Concurrent Resolution 18

Sponsored by Senators HANSELL, GIROD; Representative GILLIAM

Whereas the Aurora Colony was founded as a Christian communal society in 1856 by German and Swiss immigrants and first-generation Americans; and

Whereas Aurora was named after the daughter of the Aurora Colony's founder, Wilhelm Keil; and

Whereas the Aurora Colony flourished in the north Willamette Valley from 1856 to 1883; and

Whereas in the mid-20th century, some descendants of the members of the Aurora Colony recognized that without a concerted effort, the history and heritage of the unique Aurora Colony community would be lost or unappreciated by future generations of Oregonians; and

Whereas in 1963, these descendants and other interested individuals formed the Aurora Colony Historical Society; and

Whereas in the last 50 years the Aurora Colony Historical Society has worked to promote interactive lifelong learning by inspiring curiosity about the heritage of the Aurora Colony through management of the Old Aurora Colony Museum and supporting historical research efforts regarding the Aurora Colony and the north Willamette Valley; and

Whereas the Aurora Colony Historical Society is celebrating its 50th anniversary in 2013; now, therefore,

## Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Seventy-seventh Legislative Assembly, recognize the 50th anniversary of the Aurora Colony Historical Society.

Adopted by Senate June 11, 2013

Robert Taylor, Secretary of Senate

Peter Courtney, President of Senate

Adopted by House June 20, 2013

Tina Kotek, Speaker of House

Enrolled Senate Concurrent Resolution 18 (SCR 18-INTRO)