House Joint Memorial 19

Sponsored by Representatives GORSEK, GALLEGOS; Representatives BAILEY, BARNHART, BOONE, DEMBROW, FAGAN, FREDERICK, GARRETT, GELSER, GOMBERG, HARKER, HOYLE, KENY-GUYER, KOMP, LIVELY, MATTHEWS, MCKEOWN, NATHANSON, READ, REARDON, TOMEI, VEGA PEDERSON, WILLIAMSON, Senators BURDICK, DEVLIN, DINGFELDER, EDWARDS, MONNES ANDERSON, MONROE, ROSENBAUM, SHIELDS

SUMMARY

The following summary is not prepared by the sponsors of the measure and is not a part of the body thereof subject to consideration by the Legislative Assembly. It is an editor's brief statement of the essential features of the measure **as introduced**.

Urges Congress to support Bank on Students Loan Fairness Act.

JOINT MEMORIAL

- 2 To the President of the United States and the Senate and the House of Representatives of the United 3 States of America, in Congress assembled:
- 4 We, your memorialists, the Seventy-seventh Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon, in

5 legislative session assembled, respectfully represent as follows:

6 Whereas student loan debt is a growing crisis in the United States, now totaling more than \$1 7 trillion; and

8 Whereas the growing amount of student debt is threatening economic recovery nationwide; and

9 Whereas the federal government is making money on student loans while borrowers struggle to

10 repay their debt; and

11 Whereas 25 percent of borrowers under 30 spend more than 10 percent of their income on re-12 paying student loan debt; and

Whereas the interest rate on subsidized Federal Direct Stafford Loans is set to double on July
 1, 2013; now, therefore,

15 Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

(1) The Congress of the United States of America is respectfully urged to support the Bank on
Students Loan Fairness Act (S. 897, 113th Cong., 1st Sess. (2013)) to protect students from the doubling of interest rates on federal student loans that is set to occur on July 1, 2013.

(2) A copy of this memorial shall be sent to the President of the United States, to the Senate
 Majority Leader, to the Speaker of the House of Representatives and to each member of the Oregon

21 Congressional Delegation.

22

1