Enrolled

House Joint Memorial 14

Sponsored by Representative BUCKLEY

To the President of the United States and the Senate and the House of Representatives of the United States of America, in Congress assembled:

We, your memorialists, the Seventy-seventh Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon, in legislative session assembled, respectfully represent as follows:

Whereas the rising cost of health care in the United States is a major driver for budgets at the national, state and household levels; and

Whereas the cost of prescription medications is a major contributor to health care cost increases; and

Whereas prescription drug companies in the United States receive the benefit of special patent protections and prohibitions against the reimportation of less expensive prescriptions available in other countries, including Canada; and

Whereas in the United States, unlike in many other countries in the world, prescription drug companies are permitted to engage in extensive direct-to-consumer marketing; and

Whereas private consumers and publicly funded health care programs in the United States pay more for prescription medications than those in any other country in the world; and

Whereas although federal agencies such as the United States Department of Veterans Affairs and the Indian Health Service are permitted to negotiate with prescription drug companies for drug rebates, such negotiation on behalf of Medicare recipients is prohibited; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

- (1) The Congress of the United States of America is respectfully urged to enact legislation permitting the United States Secretary of Health and Human Services to negotiate drug prices and rebates for Medicare recipients.
- (2) A copy of this memorial shall be sent to the President of the United States, to the Senate Majority Leader, to the Speaker of the House of Representatives and to each member of the Oregon Congressional Delegation.

Adopted by House May 2, 2013
Ramona J. Line, Chief Clerk of House
Tina Kotek, Speaker of House
Adopted by Senate May 23, 2013
Peter Courtney, President of Senate