Enrolled

House Joint Memorial 1

Introduced and printed pursuant to House Rule 12.00. Presession filed (at the request of House Interim Committee on Veterans Affairs)

To the President of the United States and the Senate and the House of Representatives of the United States of America, in Congress assembled:

We, your memorialists, the Seventy-seventh Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon, in legislative session assembled, respectfully represent as follows:

Whereas many veterans from the current conflicts in Iraq and Afghanistan, as well as veterans of past conflicts, suffer from physical, emotional and mental disabilities due to their military service; and

Whereas there are both evidence-based and anecdotal accounts of people with emotional and mental trauma experiencing significant improvement through animal therapy; and

Whereas any treatment that benefits veterans with emotional and mental disabilities due to their military service should be available to the veterans and their families, including service or therapy dogs; and

Whereas providers of animal therapy are eager to assist Oregon's veteran population both in the reintegration phase of their return from combat operations and throughout their lives as they manage their emotional and mental disabilities; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

- (1) We, the members of the Seventy-seventh Legislative Assembly, respectfully request that the Congress of the United States overturn the United States Department of Veterans Affairs regulation prohibiting the provision of service or therapy dogs for veterans with emotional and mental disabilities.
- (2) A copy of this memorial shall be sent to the President of the United States, to the Senate Majority Leader, to the Speaker of the House of Representatives and to each member of the Oregon Congressional Delegation.

Adopted by House February 25, 2013
Ramona J. Line, Chief Clerk of House
Tina Kotek, Speaker of House
Adopted by Senate April 3, 2013
Peter Courtney, President of Senate