## **Enrolled**

## **House Concurrent Resolution 35**

Sponsored by Representative WHITSETT; Representatives BENTZ, MCLANE, Senators FERRIOLI, WHITSETT

Whereas Bobbie Steninger began teaching in 1962; and

Whereas for 50 years Bobbie Steninger has devoted her life to the young people of Lakeview, Oregon, and has been a role model for young and old alike; and

Whereas Bobbie Steninger started the Lakeview Disaster Unit in 1979 and helped train Lakeview's emergency medical technicians, law enforcement officers and ski patrol, and also provided first aid training for Lake County School District staff; and

Whereas Bobbie Steninger has organized many community fitness events and served as a leader on the Lake County Fair Board for many years; and

Whereas Bobbie Steninger started the sports medicine program at Lakeview High School, which has encouraged many students to enter the medical field; and

Whereas Bobbie Steninger has won the 3A-2A Southern Cascade League Cross Country and Track Coach of the Year award numerous times in her 50 years as a coach; and

Whereas Bobbie Steninger was named 3A Southern Cascade League Coach of the Year for all sports in 1981 and 2A Southern Cascade League Coach of the Year for track and all sports in 1989; and

Whereas Bobbie Steninger was named Oregon Track Coach of the Year in 1980, was runner-up for National Coach of the Year in 1980 and was the National High School Sectional Coach of the Year in 1980 and 2009; and

Whereas Bobbie Steninger was named Oregon Women's Coach of the Year for 1994-1995 and was Lake County's first Educator of the Year in 2004; and

Whereas Bobbie Steninger helped found Lakeview High School's booster club; and

Whereas the Lakeview High School track was named after Bobbie Steninger in 2012; and

Whereas Bobbie Steninger won the prestigious Game Changer Award at the Oregon Sports Awards in 2013; now, therefore,

## Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the Seventy-seventh Legislative Assembly, honor Bobbie Steninger for her dedication to her students and her community and for her many outstanding achievements.

Adopted by House June 19, 2013
Ramona J. Line, Chief Clerk of House
Tina Kotek, Speaker of House
Adopted by Senate June 27, 2013
Peter Courtney, President of Senate