## Enrolled

## **House Concurrent Resolution 33**

Sponsored by Representatives MATTHEWS, GORSEK, Senator MONNES ANDERSON

Whereas in 2012, Gresham National Little League earned its first berth in the Little League Baseball World Series after winning the championship game of the Northwest Region Tournament in an 8-4 victory over Post Falls Little League in San Bernardino, California; and

Whereas in the summer leading up to the Little League Baseball World Series, Gresham National Little League won district and state championships, earning its spot in the regional championship game with a 6-2 win over top seed Mercer Island Little League in one semifinal game; and

Whereas Gresham National Little League showed admirable dedication, perseverance and team spirit as it fought back from losses at the state and regional championship levels; and

Whereas Gresham National Little League is the first team from Gresham Barlow Little League to earn a berth in the Little League Baseball World Series and only the fourth team from Oregon to do so; and

Whereas Gresham National Little League's push ended on August 18, 2012, after a loss to Par Troy East Little League at Lamade Stadium in South Williamsport, Pennsylvania, in which Gresham fought hard to the end; and

Whereas the 2012 Gresham National Little League team was composed of Devon Bratcher, Brett Falkner, Hunter Hemenway, Tyler Linch, Ethan Marshall, Ethan Meckel, Greg Mehlhaff, Tyler Pederson, Ethan Rose, Ezra Samperi and Christian Turner and played under the leadership of manager Jason Trickel and assistant coaches Craig Hemenway and Dave Mehlhaff; and

Whereas with the support of their parents and their community, the members of the 2012 Gresham National Little League team evinced indomitable spirit and athleticism in their pursuit of excellence, making Oregonians proud as the team took to the international stage; now, therefore,

## Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Seventy-seventh Legislative Assembly, commend the outstanding athletic and community achievement of the 2012 Gresham National Little League team.

Adopted by House June 11, 2013

Ramona J. Line, Chief Clerk of House

Tina Kotek, Speaker of House

Adopted by Senate June 27, 2013

Peter Courtney, President of Senate