Enrolled

House Concurrent Resolution 28

Sponsored by Representatives CLEM, CAMERON, Senator COURTNEY, Representative BERGER, Senator WINTERS

Whereas South Salem High School has been preparing students for post-high school education, for successful careers and for life for nearly 60 years, beginning on September 7, 1954; and

Whereas South Salem High School has established long-standing traditions of quality education and student involvement in athletics, music and other extracurricular activities; and

Whereas in 1987 South Salem High School was honored as a National Blue Ribbon School, one of the highest honors bestowed on a school in the United States; and

Whereas numerous South Salem High School students have been recognized as National Merit Scholarship Program Commended Students and National Merit Scholarship Program Semifinalists; and

Whereas South Salem High School is one of only 19 high schools in Oregon and the only school in Salem to offer the International Baccalaureate Diploma; and

Whereas the academically rigorous International Baccalaureate program, first offered at South Salem High School in 1999, is pursued by approximately 53 percent of South Salem High School juniors and seniors; and

Whereas South Salem High School has maintained an active chapter of the National Honor Society since 1955; and

Whereas South Salem High School has maintained a winning tradition in athletic programs at the highest levels; and

Whereas South Salem High School athletic teams have won 19 state championships at the 4A and 6A levels; and

Whereas South Salem High School's football and tennis teams both won state championships in the first year of the school's existence; and

Whereas the Rowdy Dowd spirit group began in 1955 and is still a significant part of the South Salem High School tradition of student involvement; and

Whereas nearly 150 students are involved each year with the South Salem High School chapter of DECA; and

Whereas the South Salem High School chapter of DECA performs successfully at both the state and international levels, with 177 students qualifying for the DECA International Career Development Conference since 2006; and

Whereas the South Salem High School culinary program is one of the top-ranked high school culinary programs in the United States; and

Whereas the South Salem High School culinary team took fourth place in the 2012 National ProStart Student Invitational after winning the Oregon ProStart High School Culinary Championships, and has appeared at the national competition five times; and

Whereas South Salem High School has won 32 state championships in music competitions since 1987; and

Whereas South Salem High School has won two Grammy Awards and is a Grammy Signature School Gold recipient; and

Whereas students in South Salem High School music programs have performed all over the world, including Europe and Asia; and

Whereas the South Salem High School community of parents, neighbors and area businesses have privately donated millions of dollars to support academic programs, classroom needs and im-

provement of school facilities, including football, soccer, baseball and softball fields, batting cages, the state-of-the-art basketball court and gym floor, concession stands and restrooms; and

Whereas South Salem High School graduates include teachers, doctors, attorneys, rocket scientists, collegiate and professional athletes, athletic coaches, composers, actors, a university president and parents of South Salem High School alumni and current students; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Seventy-seventh Legislative Assembly, recognize South Salem High School for maintaining a strong tradition of excellence throughout its nearly 60 years of educating Salem students; and be it further

Resolved, That Friday, September 5, 2014, be recognized as Saxon Day throughout this state; and be it further

Resolved, That a copy of this resolution be presented to South Salem High School and the Salem-Keizer Public Schools school district.

Adopted by House April 15, 2013

Ramona J. Line, Chief Clerk of House

Tina Kotek, Speaker of House

Adopted by Senate May 8, 2013

Peter Courtney, President of Senate