Enrolled

House Concurrent Resolution 19

Sponsored by Representative PARRISH, Senator DEVLIN

Whereas Native Americans have resided in the Tualatin River Basin, home to the Atfalati Tribe, for thousands of years; and

Whereas on September 27, 1850, the Congress of the United States passed the Donation Land Claim Act whereby United States citizens could earn land title through cultivation of the land, and between 1850 and 1853 some 30 families settled in the Tualatin River Basin area; and

Whereas the first town plat was drawn in 1887 around a new railroad line, and the settlement was named Tualatin; and

Whereas the City of Tualatin was incorporated in 1913; and

Whereas the City of Tualatin has grown in population from approximately 150 residents at the time of incorporation to 26,120 in its centennial year; and

Whereas the City of Tualatin has grown to become a community of engaged citizens, with a diverse and robust economy, beautiful parks and natural areas and a high quality of life for its residents; and

Whereas residents of the City of Tualatin are urged to learn more about the city's past, to make positive contributions in the present and to help leave a healthy legacy for the city's future; and

Whereas the City of Tualatin, Mayor Lou Ogden, City Council President Monique Beikman, Councilors Wade Brooksby, Frank Bubenik, Joelle Davis, Nancy Grimes and Ed Truax and the Tualatin Chamber of Commerce encourage all Oregon residents to participate in the City of Tualatin's Centennial Celebration, a year-long array of programs and activities to recognize the city's 100th anniversary; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Seventy-seventh Legislative Assembly, commemorate the occasion of the 100th anniversary of the founding of the City of Tualatin and extend our gratitude and best wishes to those who live in and serve the City of Tualatin.

Adopted by House May 21, 2013
Ramona J. Line, Chief Clerk of House
Tina Kotek, Speaker of House
Adopted by Senate June 13, 2013
Peter Courtney, President of Senate