Enrolled House Bill 2105

Sponsored by Representative HUFFMAN (Presession filed.)

CHAPTER	

AN ACT

Relating to the Energy Facility Siting Council; and declaring an emergency.

Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

- <u>SECTION 1.</u> (1) The State Department of Energy shall review the following matters related to the Energy Facility Siting Council:
- (a) Means to encourage consistency between the standards for the siting of facilities of the federal government and local governments with those specified in ORS 469.300 to 469.563.
- (b) A mechanism to enhance the participation of local governments during the facility siting process when the standards for the siting of facilities of local governments are consistent with those specified in ORS 469.300 to 469.563.
 - (c) Means to encourage public participation in the design and siting of facilities.
- (d) The definition of "energy facility" specified in ORS 469.300 and recommendations to clarify the definition for purposes of determining which public body, as defined in ORS 174.109, has authority relating to the siting of facilities.
- (e) Means to ensure constructive and effective participation by local governments, state agencies and federally recognized Indian tribes in the siting of facilities.
- (f) Means to ensure the efficient and cost-effective recovery of fees expended in the review of applications for site certificates.
 - (g) Any other matters deemed relevant by the department.
- (2) The department shall submit a report with the results of the study, and include recommendations for legislation, to the interim committees of the Legislative Assembly related to environment and natural resources on or before November 1, 2013.

SECTION 2. Section 1 of this 2013 Act is repealed on January 2, 2015.

SECTION 3. This 2013 Act being necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health and safety, an emergency is declared to exist, and this 2013 Act takes effect on its passage.

Passed by House April 2, 2013	Received by Governor:
	, 2013
Ramona J. Line, Chief Clerk of House	Approved:
	, 2013
Tina Kotek, Speaker of House	
Passed by Senate May 6, 2013	John Kitzhaber, Governor
	Filed in Office of Secretary of State:
Peter Courtney, President of Senate	, 2013
	Kate Brown, Secretary of State