

OREGON DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION Public Service Building, 255 Capitol Street NE, Salem, Oregon 97310 Phone (503) 947-5600 • Fax (503) 378-5156 • www.ode.state.or.us

## SB 104: Criminal Background Checks House Higher Education & Workforce Development Committee March 13, 2013

Chair Dembrow and members of the committee, for the record, my name is Jan McComb, Legislative Director at the Department of Education. I am here today to testify in support of SB 104, brought to you by the Department of Education.

Over the years, the Oregon Legislature has enacted many laws to keep kids safe, and SB 104 proposes another. SB 104 closes an existing loophole by expanding who may be required to submit to a criminal background check to include community college faculty who teach as part of an early childhood education program.

# Background

Currently, the Teacher Standards and Practices Commission conducts criminal background checks on all licensed and registered personnel: teachers, administrators, student teachers, and personnel specialist.<sup>1</sup>

The Oregon Department of Education is responsible for conducting national and state criminal background checks on *non-licensed* personnel such as teacher assistants, secretaries, bus drivers, custodial staff, and contractors that have unsupervised contact with students.

Included in the list of who must have criminal background checks are community college faculty members teaching at a K-12 school during the regular school day. Missing from the list are community college faculty members who may be present at pre-kindergarten site (such as Oregon Head Start Pre-Kindergarten).

Many community colleges offer degrees and certificates in early childhood education. Students have required practicums in the pre-kindergarten classrooms. The community college faculty member overseeing the practicum may need to observe that student's teaching skills in the classroom setting. These faculty members could have unsupervised access to young children, yet not be cleared through a criminal background check.

## SB 104

Passage of SB 104 will increase the safety of Oregon's youngest students by ensuring that all the staff around them has been screened for state and national criminal backgrounds through fingerprinting.

The -1 amendment is non-substantive and clarifies the intent of the bill; it was developed with representatives of the Oregon Community College Association.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> ORS 342.223 – 342.232.

## **Frequently Asked Questions**

#### How much do applicants pay for a background check?

Oregon State Police — \$28; Federal Bureau of Investigation — \$16.50; Oregon Department of Education — \$14.50; TOTAL — \$59.

#### What crimes (convicted or convicted of attempted crime) prohibit a person from working in a school?

Aggravated Murder Murder Assault in the First Degree Kidnapping in the First Degree Rape in the Third Degree Rape in the Second Degree Rape in the First Degree Sodomy in the Third Degree Sodomy in the Second Degree Sodomy in the First Degree Unlawful Sexual Penetration in the Second Degree Unlawful Sexual Penetration in the First Degree Sexual Abuse in the Third Degree Sexual Abuse in the Second Degree Sexual Abuse in the First Degree Online sexual corruption of a child in the second degree Online sexual corruption of a child in the first degree Contributing to the Sexual Delinquency of a Minor Sexual Misconduct Public Indecency; Bigamy Incest Child Neglect in the First Degree Endangering the Welfare of a Minor Using Child in Display of Sexually Explicit Conduct Sale of Exhibition of Visual Reproduction of Sexual Conduct by Child Paying for Viewing Sexual Conduct Involving a Child Encouraging Child Sex Abuse in the First Degree Encouraging Child Sex Abuse in the Second Degree Encouraging Child Sex Abuse in the Third Degree Possession of Materials Depicting Sexually Explicit Conduct of a Child in the First Degree Possession of Materials Depicting Sexually Explicit Conduct of a Child in the Second Degree Arson in the First Degree Robbery in the First Degree Treason Abuse of Corpse in the First Degree Prostitution Patronizing a Prostitute **Promoting Prostitution Compelling Prostitution** Luring a minor Sadomasochistic Abuse or Sexual Conduct in Live Show Exhibiting an Obscene Performance to a Minor **Displaying Obscene Materials to Minors** Publicly Displaying Nudity or Sex for Advertising Purposes Unlawful manufacture of hydrocodone within 1,000 feet of school Unlawful delivery of hydrocodone Unlawful delivery of hydrocodone within 1,000 feet of school

Unlawful manufacture of methadone within 1,000 feet of school Unlawful delivery of methadone; and Unlawful delivery of methadone within 1,000 feet of school Unlawful manufacture of oxycodone within 1,000 feet of school Unlawful delivery of oxycodone Unlawful delivery of oxycodone within 1,000 feet of school Unlawful manufacture of heroin within 1,000 feet of school Unlawful delivery of heroin within 1,000 feet of school Unlawful manufacture of marijuana within 1,000 feet of school Unlawful delivery of marijuana Unlawful delivery of marijuana within 1,000 feet of school Unlawful possession of marijuana within 1,000 feet of school Unlawful manufacture of 3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine within 1,000 feet of school Unlawful delivery of 3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine within 1,000 feet of school Unlawful manufacture of cocaine within 1,000 feet of school Unlawful delivery of cocaine Unlawful delivery of cocaine within 1,000 feet of school Unlawful manufacture of methamphetamine within 1,000 feet of school Unlawful delivery of methamphetamine Unlawful delivery of methamphetamine within 1,000 feet of school Unlawful manufacture or delivery of controlled substance within 1,000 feet of school